good setup?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default good setup??

amd athelon 3200
nvidia 6600 256 pci-e
160gb hard drive
512 mb
sound blaster 7.1
im just listing the basic stuff, is this a good way to go?
__________________

__________________
Powerslave is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

amd athlon 3200, is this an amd64? if so yeah, get a venice for $200

dont get nvidia 6600. get the eVGA 6600GT.

What kind of hard drive? Seagate is good.

512mb ram is fine but it depends what your planning on doing, what kind of games do you play. 1 GB ram is really all you need right now

sound blaster? hmm...well iv heard alot of bad things about it but its better than onboard. whats your budget?
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

make sure you get the socket 939 venice core www.zipzoomfly.com its 195 bucks i think
like truebe said get the eVGA 6600gt costs about 185 get a seagate too very quiet, get the dfi lanparty for mobo its onboard is good enough you dont need a sound card and pick up the gig of ram you wont regret it
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
zap
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 48
Default

its not bad
__________________
zap is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 12:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Western Digital is also good for a hard drive. Also, if you plan on having a good computer around for a while, you might wanna look into buying two 80 GB hard drives instead and trying to RAID them maybe (or doing something like that). I am not exactly sure how RAID works yet, but I think it works twice as fast because they work together.

Also, like aspire said, make sure you get the socket 939 Venice core if you are going with the AMD Athlon 64 3200+. I'd also have to agree on going with a gig of RAM.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the memory on a videocard doesn't matter

the 6600 is a piece of crap

6600gt is the way to go
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 12:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Might want to look into the 6800 GT too.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 01:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if he's going AGP, then maybe 6800gt could fit his budget

also, you need 1gig ram for optimal performance
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 02:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

ok, so 6600 gt? should i upgrade my processor, and yes i have a budget, trying not to cap 1000 dollars.
__________________
Powerslave is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 03:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

ok, here's a much better setup then:

AMD64 3200+ Venice (retail)-$210
DFI Lanparty ultra-d- $135
eVGA 6600GT - $180
1gb twinMOS ram- $95
Seagate 160gb SATA HDD-$93
NEC 3510A DVD-RW- $50
OCZ Modstream 520W-$106
Case & shipping- $100 max

that's probably the best setup you can get for under $1000

Reasons why to get what i suggested:
-the retail venice has a 3yr warranty and stock HSF; also the 3200+ venice is VERY overclockable (and even if you don't it'll run very cool, making your cpu fan run slower, or quieter) along with new SSE3 instructions
-dfi lanparty is the most stable and most OCable 939 board, making it the obvious choice
-evga is known for making quality gfx cards and the 6600gt supports PS3.0, making it able to run up coming games with the eye candy even $800+ X850XT PE's can't run
-twinmos ram; very good ram for cheap price, paired along with the dfi board, it can receive enough voltages to overclock like more expensive rams can, and even if you don't, they are still very good ram
-seagate makes the quietest & most reliable (imo) HDD's, SATA transfer at 150mb/sec as opposed to the 100-133 you get with older hard drives
-the nec 3510a won gold as the best optical drive they've tested out of a lot of other optical drives; not only are they cheap, but they also work great
-ocz power supplies are known to be very good; this psu can probably last you another upgrade (and yes, you do need another power supply, you can't use the one that comes with the case)

the case is your choice, if i were you, i'd look into the thermaltake xasers at about $70
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.