Good Program to test my fps in game - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2005, 01:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373


AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239

Its better to use the games' FPS display if it has one. Fraps is resource hogging. Only use it if you have to. You shouldn't be worried about FPS though, you have a beast system.

BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171

I mostly play bf2

I am just curious about my fps.

And I really want a program that won't slow my game down to much. I know in Americas Army if you type in the console stat fps it will show your fps.

If Bf2 would have something like that it would be great.
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378

Originally posted by BandwidthHogg
Its better to use the games' FPS display if it has one. Fraps is resource hogging. Only use it if you have to.
Resource hogging? It uses about 4mb of RAM ..
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

My copy uses nearly 30mb after a few games......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
bonehelm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612

or you can always estimate.

I can tell the difference of 5-6 fps.

I never needed any fps measuring programs, i can tell myself.
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to Rook1e

Found this see if this helps
see the "console.showfps"
Rook1e is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 01:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball

I use FRAPS occasionally, only when i get a new game to test out my FPS. I turn it off after that.

AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.