Good overclocking Mobo - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 09:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

The CPU idles at about 40C, and load about 60C. Stock voltage is 1.6V. I don't think it's the RAM holding me back, because I've tried running a divider as well, and it didn't change anything. The funny thing is, if I up the multiplier to stock (12.5), and increase the FSB to, say, 180 (from 166), the PC wont boot either, so I know it can't be the RAM, cause the RAM quite happily runs at 200. I'm stumped with this one, I really am.
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

**** me to
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 01:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
The CPU idles at about 40C, and load about 60C. Stock voltage is 1.6V. I don't think it's the RAM holding me back, because I've tried running a divider as well, and it didn't change anything. The funny thing is, if I up the multiplier to stock (12.5), and increase the FSB to, say, 180 (from 166), the PC wont boot either, so I know it can't be the RAM, cause the RAM quite happily runs at 200. I'm stumped with this one, I really am.
the Asus boards are not designed for overclocking. I mean, they can be used for overclocking, but they're not specifically designed for it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 05:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

So Apokalipse, do you think it is the Mobo holding me back, or do I just have a cr@ppy CPU?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 06:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

my asus mobo (p4p800se) has done me well
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.