Good OC'ing ram? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2005, 06:21 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Well how am I supposed to overclock and play F.E.A.R then?
You don't have to have 2GB to be able to play FEAR...I can max out settings with soft shadows and some AA and AF enabled and my framerate is still fine, this being only with 1GB...of course memory is really what holds this games full potential back but that's simply because it isn't optimized well

Besides that...good luck playing FEAR on a GeForce4
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 07:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

rofl yea that will definitly be ur bottleneck
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 08:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Obviously someone can't read, since I said with an AMD 64 bit and an nF4 mobo, which common sense would dictate that you can't run my current card (agp) on a PCI-E mobo sillies .
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 01:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Okay, I need ram that will run 300htt in a 1:1 ratio. Is it possible? 300htt x 10 multiplier = 3ghz right? Will that fry my mobo?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 09:35 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

yea the g.skill pc4800fr or ff will do that but u can only get them in 2X512
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 09:57 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Do those have the TCCD chips? Or I guess that won't matter because I wouldn't be overclocking them. Will the DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI mobo handle 300htt with a 1:1 memory divider?

Edit: After looking carefully, I can't seem to find any DDR600 with low memory timings. Do they not make them at 2 2-2-2-5 1T? Or will it not matter? There seems to be mixed reviews on all of the DDR600 pieces.

2nd EDIT: I found the GBFF, so this stuff is really good?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231014
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 10:13 AM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Edit: After looking carefully, I can't seem to find any DDR600 with low memory timings. Do they not make them at 2 2-2-2-5 1T? Or will it not matter? There seems to be mixed reviews on all of the DDR600 pieces.
You don't seem to understand the concept of memory latency...when you increase memory speed you have to compensate stability by slightly slowing down how the RAM handles reading and writing the data...if you don't know memory timings are basically measurements of how long memory takes at a certain point in the read/write process...if you increase memory frequency you can't maintain the faster timings and results in memory errors

The only exception to this rule would be BH-5 chips which compensate latency with extremely high vdimm...BH-5s are known to do 270MHz 2-2-2-5 1T @ 3.6vdimm with active cooling of course

Read this for RAM listings of what will generally do 300MHz
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.