Good OC'ing ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default Good OC'ing ram?

Is this good for overclocking? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231034

Is it the ram with the TCCD chips? If not can someone point me in the right direction?
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021
this is higher rated ram so you can be sure you will get 250FSB
i dont think *.Skill put TCCD in their 2GB models, or did they?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 07:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Nothing faster than that? It's at cas 3 with high timings, or will this not matter?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i cant find the LA from *.skill on newegg anymore looks like there sold out...

i think your better off getting the higher rated ram sense 2GB wont really OC very well
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 07:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If you are serious about overclocking, you do not want 1GB modules are they have poor latency which will limit overclocking potential

Get yourself some *.Skill LAs while they are still around, they were dirt cheap last I checked and won't be around much longer...I know for a fact they're still using TCCD on brainpower PCBs

Other than that there's really no way of telling what type of ICs memory are using these days...Samsung has been cutting down TCCD production for a while now and many manufacturers, OCZ being one, now uses the inferior TCC* ICs

BH-5 ICs are another good alternative, specifically if you are on a budget as they are much cheaper than TCCDs, however you need to make sure you can feed them to appropriate vdimm as well as the have the appropriate cooling for them
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 08:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i cant find any LA 1GB models on newegg anymore looks like their gone

*.SKILL Extreme Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Samsung TCCD System Memory - Retail
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 08:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Why is * getting censored?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 08:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

LOL is * a bad word and * isnt ? *. *.


ggg//

GGG//

*

*

gg

GG
wtf?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 08:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Isn't this the LA? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...N82E1682023103

It says it uses TCCD... What memory uses BH-5's?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

why are all the DDR2 ones la

F1-3200DSU2-512LA
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.