is it good enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2006, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default is it good enough?

right down here are my temps at idle read on everest

MOBO- 36 celcius
CPU - 41 celcius
HDD - 28 celcius


what do you guys think about the temps?is it moderate or good?
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Are you overclocking?

If the answer is no, then stop worrying about temperatures.

If the answer is yes, then those temperatures are fine.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

yea clocking.during intensive load,my cpu temp gets to 50+.it is fine too is it?do you what are the temp threshold for my cpu to slow down?
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 12:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I wouldn't go above 48c on any CPU for an extended period of time.
The General is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

alright.so,45 degrees would be ideal.there are some who says that even if it goes up to 50+ it would be "normal".do you know the temp threshold?
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 02:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 87
Default

i have the same cpu as you and the maximum running temperature is 75 degrees celcius as written on the intel site. so i wouldn't worry unless you got anywhere near there.
__________________
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9...gfinal2ld2.jpg
__________________
CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad @ 2.4 Ghz per core
Motherboard: ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi
Hardrives: IDE MAXTOR 80 Gb (Windows)
2x SATA MAXTOR 320 Gbs in raid
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GTS (revised 512mb)
RAM: 6 Gb 667 kingston dual channel
Monitor: ASUS VW192T
Mouse: Microsoft Habu
Power Supply: Topower 1000W
OS: Windows XP x64 edition (to support all ma ram :D)
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 07:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Is it ok to have a computer constantly running at 52C? It's a folding comp and, it folds 24/7. I shut it off once a week. Normally without folding, it would idle at about 43C.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.