good core for 754? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default good core for 754?

Whats a good amd cpu chip core. it doesnt look like san diego or venice make for 754?
__________________

Tenken is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

no they are not for 754.I think a good one 4 754 is a winchester.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

y u getting a 754..? 939 are same price, almost. get a venice 939, they oc very well
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Maybe he is just upgrading.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 11:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

If your into ocing, the Sempron3100+ with SSE3 instructions is pretty good. Can get to 2.7 on air with DFI.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Don't get a Sempron, thats AMD's equivalent of a Celeron. The lack of 64-bit and an L2 cache really hurts performance. Everybody hates socket 754, but its really not that bad. If you don't plan on upgrading your CPU yet keeping your motherboard, there is no harm in getting 754. Get the Clawhammer core. It has 1MB L2 cache which will make it scream.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Btw, the l2 cache doesn't hurt performance that much with the sempron. And wow, no 64 bit support. Its 2005. Microsoft will release longhorn 2007. Thats 2 years to get a better computer/upgrade processor.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
If your into ocing, the Sempron3100+ with SSE3 instructions is pretty good. Can get to 2.7 on air with DFI.
First, the SSE3 instructions make very little difference, showing almost no performance gain in benchmarks showing the Winchester vs. Venice cores.

Also, if the guy is asking for a core-type suggestion, do you really think overclocking is a good thing to recommend?

Lastly, there have been some Sempron 3100+'s taht have gotten to 2.7 GHz on air with DFI boards. However, not all 3100+'s are capable of that, most will never even sniff 2.5 GHz, much less 2.7. Also, who cares how high the CPU can hit on a DFI board? if he doesn't have a DFI board, then that means nothing. I doubt he's going to go out and purchase a new motherboard simply so he can overclock a sucky Sempron.

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
And wow, no 64 bit support. Its 2005. Microsoft will release longhorn 2007.
People aren't buying the AMD 64 CPU's for the 64-bit capabilities, they're buying them for their superior architecture in the 32-bit realm. As you can see here the Sempron 3100+ is utterly destroyed by AMD's 64-bit line, even getting beaten by the 64 2800+, the lowest of AMD's line.

In conclusion, if not obvious, I would HIGHLY discourage against getting a Sempron, and would recommend a 3200+ or 3400+ Newcastle core. The 3400+ Newcastle is about $100 more than a 3100+ Sempron, but beats it by 33 frames per second. Unless you're into extreme overclocking, DO NOT go with the Sempron.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

The reason to get a sempron with SSE3 is because it is based on Venice core, which is highly overclockable. 2.5 is def very acheivable and many people consider 2.6 the norm for sempron. Btw, look at these sites and google sempron overclocking too see that these results are typical.
http://sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=656&pid=2483
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...3100-oc_8.html

Btw, those are with the old paris cores. The new palmero cores based on the venice get into the 2.6-2.7 on 1.65 volts. The Xbit labs one didnt even use a dfi board.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default

i was thinking about getting a Athlon64bit 3200+ w/ an ECS mobo (its a combo for cheap) would that be good? im on aa REALLY tight budget so i cant get much. and i really dont care what the core is either. i just want something dependable that is 64bit and fast.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.