a good amd64 2800 to 3000 which one? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Question a good amd64 2800 to 3000 which one?

ok im really thinking about upgrading my cpu to amd 64 but i dont want to spend alot of money on the cpu im looking something from amd64 2800 to 3000 with a nice core so i can overclock like mad. oh and socket 939 also wat core should i be looking for??
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 12:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

venice
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 01:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

haha... and in case you wanted some other opinions on this...

venice
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

ok thanks guys wat venice core amd 64 should i go with??
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'd say don't go lower than the 3000+....they are really good OC'ers....basically right now 3000's and 3200's are the best OC'ers for the buck
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

WHOA!! Wait a minute!

You said you were gonna upgrade?
You were gonna keep your motherboard that is in your sig?

Sorry to say, but Socket A (what your motherboard is) has no 64-bit CPUs
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well of course i know that im getting a socket 939 motherboard with a pci express slot. so pretty much im uprading from agp and my 2500 athlon
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

so in gonna be running amd athlon 64 3000+ venice core socket 939 on a DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra with dual channel 1 gig pc 3200 and 1 pci express 6600gt and upgrade later to dual 6600gt sli
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123
Default

I would say dont get dual 6600gts, because one 6800gt would suit you better for the price.
__________________

the drizzle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.