golden orb2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 04:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default golden orb2

hey guys,
I've jut installed a new thermaltake golden orb2 cpu fan cooler.
Its rated to 1600 rpm but i'm only getting 1100 down to 980 at some stages.. These readings are from my easy tune5. My cpu temp is around 36 celcius or 100 fahrenheit. Are there any ways to fix these low rpm speeds??
__________________

trimmin is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 04:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

he has 400w psu, and unpluggin some things like neons which might be sucking power does not affect his cpu cooler rpms, so i dont think its a psu lack of power problem
__________________

espeed is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 05:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Maybe the temp sensor dosen't think it need's to be at full speed Try playing a game for a while then check the speed again.
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 06:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yeah i thuogh it was temp controlled, if it gets down to 30C it slows down, above 35C it speeds up
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

hey thanks guys. i'll give that a try and see what happens let you know
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

well it seems to be working ok so leave it for a while and see what happens.
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

check bios I think there is an option that says something like full cpu Fan RPM start when temps breach ____ I like to make it the lowest and same with everything on that tab.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Maybe you have Cool'n'Quiet enabled in your BIOS. It reduces your processor speed to 1Ghz when you aeren't gaming or something like that. That might cause your fan to run slower.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.