Going to try overclocking - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 11:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
I believe the e6750 is stock 333x8. Same end result but the multiplier for the non extreme editions don't go above 8.
Oops, yes it is 333x8. My mistake. :happy:
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 01:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 105
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

Ok so what do i click when i get into bios do give me option of changing multiplier and fsb? How do i increase voltage? And i didnt really understand how to overclock memory do you think you could explain that again? How do i check temperatures?
__________________

cntstopthecrooks is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 01:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

What motherboard do you have?
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 01:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 105
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

gigabyte p35-ds3r
cntstopthecrooks is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 01:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by farinha View Post
Thank you for your feedback QuaziBee.
So, if I use the PC mainly to navigate on web, torrents and to see movies the CPU OC will not give me much gain, but if I OC the memories I should notice better gain.
One final question, considering only the memories performance, I will get a better OC on memories if I only OC the memories, or I will get the same performance as if I OC the memories and CPU.

Thank you for your help.

PS: Sorry if I haven't explained myself properly but I'm from Portugal and sometimes it's difficult to me to explain myself.
If you raise the FSB the memory will raise automatically as well some times is better to down the memory multiplier because you can achieve higher FSB and it will compensate for lower the memory multiplier so in other words: even if you lower your memory frequency it will eventually raise to the stock levels and even pass it just by raising your FSB.

If I'm wrong in this feel free to correct me..
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 01:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 105
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

k, i just need to no how to get to fsb and multiplier, and how i can check temperatures to make sure i dont fry my computer
cntstopthecrooks is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 01:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

This is a great link you should check out. P35-DS3P + e6750 overclock guide
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 02:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 105
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

Before overclocking
Disable All CPU features like Enhanced Speed Step, C1E(Enhanced Halt State), TM2....Etc


Set Vcore to manual and set it to about 1.25 volts (Standard Vcore for ur CPU)


1. Lower the DRAM frequency to 667MHZ from 800Mhz so it will be FSB:RAM=1:1


Update : Set ur PCIe frequency to Manual and set it to 100MHz just to be sure it wont go high and do Video card Probs


2. Increase the FSB to 400MHz from 333Mhz(your stock speed) dont change the multiplyer leave it at 8 or Auto.
When you do this ur DRAM frequency will increase to 800MHz so itll be running on stock speed, No OC on Ram


3. And u got a overclock of 3.2GHz


4. And if ur system is not stable enough Increase the Vcore just a little bit and itll all be fine...


5. Keep ur Eye on the CPU temp all the time, dont let them pass : CPU temp>65 Core#0 >75 Core#1 >75...use speed fan or Core Temp to monitor the Temps


6. Run Orthos for a few hours to test the Stability..if it dont return any errors u are all done


Remember this the simplest OCing u can do..


happy Ocing dont fry ur CPU

P35-DS3P + e6750 overclock guide

I found this at that link and seems to be pretty clear instructions? Is this what i should do? how do i run orthos? how do i disable cpu feautures what do i click to get to where i need to be to mess with the voltage frequencies and all that stuff?
cntstopthecrooks is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 02:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 105
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

hehe quazi bee was right after you that guide looked really good but i just need help on these questions i asked right above.
cntstopthecrooks is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 02:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Going to try overclocking

You can check your temps directly thru your BIOS in the PC health option, and you can also use the following programs to monitor when your pc in the OS:

Speedfan (not always accurate)
Everest Home edition

Also your mobo should have come with a tuner overclock program. DON'T try to overclock with this, but it does let you monitor the temps thru it.

Also the link posted above is very good, if you follow the steps in there you should be fine.
__________________

__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.