going new processor, athlon64 or xp-m? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2004, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 47
Default going new processor, athlon64 or xp-m?

hey i'm getting a new processor and my budget is £200, so i was wondering if i could get a 2600xp-m and overclock it or get a new athlon64 3000+ (newcastle) and a Abit NF8 Motherboard. Which should i do? the athlon 64 combo adds up to £171 and the xp-m is only £70. I dunno which would be a better performance? Help please.
__________________

__________________
Abit NF7-S v2.0
AMD Sempron 2500+ w/Thermaltake Volcano 12
512mb DDR400 (2x256mb)
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro 128mb
120gb WD 7200rpm
60gb WD 7200rpm
52x32x52 CDRW 8x DVD
Nforce 2 soundcard w/Altec Lansing 5100 Speakers
<a href=\"http://profile.xfire.com/millsd44\">
<img src=\"http://miniprofile.xfire.com/millsd44.png\" alt=\"millsd44 Xfire Miniprofile\" border=0>
</a>
millsd44 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default

Go for Athlon 64. I upgraded from AMD 1600+ and went to AMD 2800+ and on games I jumped 40 FPS at least, with the same video card!
__________________

__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 47
Default

shall i go to the 3000 or the 2800, is it a big difference? and its £10-15 difference as well i think.
__________________
Abit NF7-S v2.0
AMD Sempron 2500+ w/Thermaltake Volcano 12
512mb DDR400 (2x256mb)
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro 128mb
120gb WD 7200rpm
60gb WD 7200rpm
52x32x52 CDRW 8x DVD
Nforce 2 soundcard w/Altec Lansing 5100 Speakers
<a href=\"http://profile.xfire.com/millsd44\">
<img src=\"http://miniprofile.xfire.com/millsd44.png\" alt=\"millsd44 Xfire Miniprofile\" border=0>
</a>
millsd44 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 47
Default

also, is it the same, will I be able to use my current HSF (thermaltake volcano 12) because it looks EXACTLY the same as the venus 12 that i was gonna get, but just remade? Whats the difference?
thanks
__________________
Abit NF7-S v2.0
AMD Sempron 2500+ w/Thermaltake Volcano 12
512mb DDR400 (2x256mb)
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro 128mb
120gb WD 7200rpm
60gb WD 7200rpm
52x32x52 CDRW 8x DVD
Nforce 2 soundcard w/Altec Lansing 5100 Speakers
<a href=\"http://profile.xfire.com/millsd44\">
<img src=\"http://miniprofile.xfire.com/millsd44.png\" alt=\"millsd44 Xfire Miniprofile\" border=0>
</a>
millsd44 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 47
Default

if i got the xp-m i could get another 512mb ram as well. That surely woul[d be better for gaming right now than an AMD64?
__________________
Abit NF7-S v2.0
AMD Sempron 2500+ w/Thermaltake Volcano 12
512mb DDR400 (2x256mb)
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro 128mb
120gb WD 7200rpm
60gb WD 7200rpm
52x32x52 CDRW 8x DVD
Nforce 2 soundcard w/Altec Lansing 5100 Speakers
<a href=\"http://profile.xfire.com/millsd44\">
<img src=\"http://miniprofile.xfire.com/millsd44.png\" alt=\"millsd44 Xfire Miniprofile\" border=0>
</a>
millsd44 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default

AMD64 is going to boost your performance way more then a 512MB of ram, get that at a later time... My AMD64 2800+ beats a AMD Athlon 3200+.

The AMD64 3000+ will give you a small, noticable, change but not by much. I would go for 3000+ if you have it. Higher the better.

Good luck purchasing =)
__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Go as high as your budget will allow and include something like a Venus 12 or Silent Boost CPU heatsink/fan, then overclock.

For example, instead of buying a 3200 with stock cooling, get a 2800 with a Venus 12 and overclock to/past 3200 speeds (or as high as possible, I'm not terribly familiar with these processors yet.)
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by millsd44
also, is it the same, will I be able to use my current HSF (thermaltake volcano 12) because it looks EXACTLY the same as the venus 12 that i was gonna get, but just remade? Whats the difference?
thanks
That HSF will work on any Socket A CPU, this does not include AMD Athlon 64 processers.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225
Default

i would just buy the processor, and save $$ for that next big video card upgrade your gonna have in a year or so. With that system you should run everything fine. I got the same thing (2600m, NF7-S, 512mb), but a 9600SE (dunno why i chose it...) instead of 9800pro, and it runs everything just fine.
ak_smallz is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 09:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

i would go the XP-M 2600+ because they overclock very well, and when clocked at 2.7Ghz, (if you get it that far) i would say that it could beat a 64bit 2800+ without much difficulty, plus, you would be able to buy the extra 512Mb of ram, which makes a big difference in gaming today. but be aware, you will need good cooling if you buy the XP-M2600+
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.