going the amd route - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2007, 08:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^yes it will require a bios update from what i read^
and also am2 is am2, so it will work on any of them.
i think the agena will have hypertransport 3.0, though...and unless you have a new mobo, that will not work (it will step down to your current ht).
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 09:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Finaly someone is doing what no one else would bother with. And what is this Agena thing someone mentioned? I haven't kept up with hardware lately since it started to develope at an extreme rate... Will it work in any AM2 system? Or would there need to be a BIOS update? Anyways, yea/....
Agena is AMD's quad core desktop chip, due to be released, as far as I can tell, on 21 June.

AMD claims it'll have up to 40% better performance than Intel's quad core CPU's
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 09:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
Agena is AMD's quad core desktop chip, due to be released, as far as I can tell, on 21 June.

AMD claims it'll have up to 40% better performance than Intel's quad core CPU's
will they be making it for socket 1204??? so i can run two of them bad boys and have 8 cores?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Agena will be socket AM2+, with HTT 3.0 (4GHZ), but backward compatible with AM2 (HTT 1.0, 2GHZ)

Agena FX will be socket 1207+, with HTT 3.0, and I think it will be backward compatible with 1207

Barcelona is the server chip, in 1207+ only
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

This Agena sounds interesting... when it comes out, I will look into upgrading.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i guess i'll be buying my mobo first then along with the case

well.. here's what i'm looking at within 3 months or so

Dual fx70's (if i'm impatient)
4 GB S.Skill DDR2 800
1 EVGA 8800GTX
1 Sounblaster X-fi Platinum (I need fiber optics so i can have optimal sound quality!)
1 Blu-Ray Drive (Regular DVD's look like crap on 1680x1050)
1 500GB HDD (For optimal Torrenting Capacity!)
3 DVD Burners
700 Watt Thermaltake Toughpower

gonna end up around the 2500 dollar area with case and everything... and well i need a monitor too.. so 3000... probably pick me up another 22 inch, only try out the samsung this time around

Looking to build me a beast... i just recently started going into the torrenting "business" and i really need something that'll crunch all the downloading and converting and imaging and such.. and burning cd's from cd's and all that... and the gtx just to play games with ease while doing it all

so i don't think i need to wait for this agena... 2 fx70's should be way more than alright... when i'm gonna have em both oc'd to 3.0 ghz on cpns 9700's!

and as for my computer now.... this too will probably be doing some torrenting and gaming while the friends are over

friday i will be ordering the case FOR SURE, and if i can get the money from one account to the other on time.. then i will be ordering either the motherboard..... if not... then i'll be getting the power supply/hard drive
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 02:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I just like the idea of two huge coolers in your case.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I like the idea that this isn't really a practical way to have a good system.... Wasn't this just a temp fix for AMDs server lines?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
I like the idea that this isn't really a practical way to have a good system.... Wasn't this just a temp fix for AMDs server lines?
nope, 4x4 is going to be widely deployed in servers.

It is actually a good idea. it allows more cores per motherboard, and thus lower power usage, lower maintenance, higher bandwith, lower latencies etc...

4x4 was designed specifically for servers
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 11:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default

yep but AMD can't use Athlon 64 as the main stream processor to compete with intel no more. So their really hard at work making a decent quad-core and 8-core. Wonder how Agena will turn up...
Me i'm looking for a Socket F System myself but are they gonna make some crossfire chipsets for socket F? I kinda wanna stick wit ATI, hope ATI will make Direct X10 cards soon
__________________

__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.