gigabyte overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2008, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Default gigabyte overclocking

My new gigabyte motherboard comes with several handy tools which include auto updating bios etc and it also has an overclocking tool, would you guys recommend using that tool instead of doing it manually? and also how do i overclock my graphics card?

graphics card = 8800GTS 512mb

processor = intel e8400

ram = 4gb (2x 2gb) corsair @ 800mhz

power supply = coolermaster 750w
__________________

santa is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: gigabyte overclocking

Stay away from overclocking outside of the BIOS. You could totally mess up something. Update the BIOS from Windows with caution. I've never had any problems, but others have. To OC the video card you can use nTune or RivaTuner (latter preferred). Google for "RivaTuner overclocking guide" or something similar.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: gigabyte overclocking

ati tool
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: gigabyte overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
ati tool
QFT!

atitool trumps all other graphics card overclockers since it has a built in stressor and has auto finding functionality

anyways, gigabyte supplies EasyTune if I'm correct right? That program works fine and actually does overclock, but overclocking via the BIOS is preffered since the EasyTune clocks will rely on EasyTune running while the BIOS clocks will be on as soon as you turn on the PC and it POSTs
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 3850 overclocking and Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 overclocking help! Pepsiboy700 Overclocking and Modding 13 12-02-2007 11:16 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-24-2007 02:15 AM
Gigabyte P35- DS3R overclocking guides Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-04-2007 08:44 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.