Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2007, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia, South Australia
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to mattchew13
Default Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

Hello everyone,
I just wanted to know if the DS3R overclocks well and safely and i would also like to know if this motherboard has a sort of CRP feature like ASUS mobos when the PC dosnt POST all you need to do is take out the power cord for 10 seconds and it Resets all the bios setting back to defualt. I have recently had an Asus P5B-E and i really would like another motherboard with this type of CPR feature.
Thankyou
__________________

mattchew13 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

The ds3r is a great overclocker from all I have seen here and from reviews at other websites.

I am not sure on the fail-safe feature though. I will look into it.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

The ds3r has a built in cmos reset if it fails to post. It will simply "disable" your overclock. So far i have had my q6600 up to 3.6ghz (9x400) but havent been able to post past 3.6ghz
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

IMO, its a great Mobo for OCing/general use. The CMOS automatic reset saves you a lot of hassle when you get a little to greedy or ahead of your self with an OC. You just have to remember that you have to hit ctrl-F1 in the Bios in order to change your ram timing (i say this cause it doesn't tell you this in the manual).

But I'm not sure if the CMOS auto-reset will 'always' work, but it has for me, if it didn't then I guess you just set the jumpers for ten seconds and your off.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 11:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

I have yet to run into a problem where the cmos didnt fix itself after a failed post. I'm not even sure where the jumper is on this board.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Default Re: Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I have yet to run into a problem where the cmos didnt fix itself after a failed post. I'm not even sure where the jumper is on this board.
The jumper is right above the battery. It may be covered up by you graphics card or whatever is in your x16 slot. When i've had to set the jumper i had to remove my 8800gts to do so. And by the way, did your guy's mobo come with a jumper, cause mine didn't. Luckily i had a spare one from one of my electronic paintball guns. lol. never thought i'd be usin' it for my comp.
__________________
Lian Li
Asus P5N-D
q6600 2.24Ghz @ stock
2x 8800gts 320gb stock no sli
G.Skill 8Gb
Corsairs 520w
SyncMaster 22in. 2ms
HannsēG 24.7in 5ms
Samsung 32in HDTV
150gb 10,000rpm OS disk
400gb/640gb storage disks
Windows XP Professional x64
LinuxMint Latest
g2k556 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 11:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

Like i said earlier, i honestly didnt know the board had a jumper because i knew it had the built in cmos reset when overclocking.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 02:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help

i love the ds3 mobo.
I have the ds3l and its amzing(recommended by b1gapl)
i have my e6550 at 3.2 so far and im hoping to get it further.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking on a D975XBX2 Intel Mobo ModernTantalus Overclocking and Modding 4 08-14-2007 02:30 AM
HDD problems? Woden Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-13-2007 05:44 PM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM
Gigabyte DS3 ****ing me off RockyZ Overclocking and Modding 6 04-16-2007 04:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.