Gigabyte 6600GT OCing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default Gigabyte 6600GT OCing

Hey i have a gigabyte 6600GT PCI-E version and it can pass the nvidia test 591/1.23 how can i test if this is stable and should i set it this high???
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

3d mark 05. dependin how good the cooling is i dont think it will manage that when tested. mine couldnt manage 590 like the test sed so had to bak down to 560
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Personally, i would just look around yahoo/google for some OC reviews. Thats what i do, you'll find tons of info that way. I test my OC myself too. I run benchmarks first. Then i go from video games to programs. You can see how stable it is, and the increase.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

when i played kotor1 it ran fine but froze for a few seconds every few seconds is this somthing i can fix?? and the average reviews said that about 560/1.16 were what they got.
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

if it's lagging in kotor1 (and by lagging I mean what you're talking about where it does that freeze crap) then you've pushed it too far and need to back it down.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

why do you people OC? all it does is squeeze a few fps out. its not even worth the risk. you buy these cards for their performance. if their not fast enough than you bought the wrong card, get the faster one. but frying a chip to get 3 extra fps or 100 extra points in a benchmark isn't worth it. can someone please explain why you people are so quick to OC?
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Sw1tCh[FX], OC is very useful. If you know what your doing, like most of us do. Only experience can prove that. It will not be dangerous. People that have no knowledge of OC, think OC is some extremely dangerous thing. Its not at all.

Why do i OC? Because instead of buying the best processor, i can simply OC. I have an AMD64 4000, thats AMD's second best processor. My processor runs at 2.4ghz stock. I have reached 2.8ghz with OC, it was not completely stable though. I can run 2.77ghz stable. That beats AMD's fastest processor slightly. Personally, with OC my processor can lead with the future processors. As of rite now, i have the best AMD64 processor. But the 4200 is soon on its way. Running at 2.6ghz, witch i still beat.

For us OC. We built our own computers. Then we OC our computers. Leading processors that cost 200-400+ more dollars then what we have. Do you have any idea how that feels? Creating something alot better then what it is. But for myself, as long as i can i'll be trying to beat the next new processors AMD shoots out. Then after that, i can be happy my system is above average. Then i can upgrade, and start over.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.