Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2008, 12:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 trouble

I just got my Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 in today and I have been fiddling around with it some. I replaced the front intake fake w/ a much sexier and led-less scythe. Getting the front panel off and on was QUITE difficult.

After that I decided to put in my power supply. Well i stuck it up the on the railings but none of the 4 wholes match up at all. I even tried flipping it upside down to see if for some odd reason it ran in reverse, but those didnt match either. Arent psu's and cases supposed to be a universal fit? Oh I should note I am using a PC P&C Silencer 610, it is so sleek and sexy I want to hook it up so bad

any Aurora owners out there?
__________________

__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 trouble

Checking in here.

Yes I know how hard it is to get the front panel on and off. Not sure why it's like that, it just is.

I've found that opening the door when taking it off and on helps out a lot. As does a couple wacks with the palm to get the clips latched on.

Not sure why your having an issue getting the psu holes to match up.

Pics of the back of the psu plz.

EDIT: After taking a look at the stock newegg pictures of my psu and yours, the holes are identical.

Links

http://c1.neweggimages.com/NeweggIma...703-005-03.jpg

http://c1.neweggimages.com/NeweggIma...151-034-02.jpg

You must not be doing something right.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 trouble

lol its just four wholes that I have to match up. I know Im not THAT dumb, they must be drilled wrong or something, ill do my best to try and take pictures, but its kind of hard to take a picture of a tiny misaligned hole

Pics:

Back of PSU

Attempt at back of case 1

Attempt at back of case 2
__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 trouble

Compare to the picture I linked you. If they are the same then your obviously not aligning it right.

http://c1.neweggimages.com/NeweggIma...233-013-15.jpg

compare the back of your aurora to this picture.

If both look the same then it will fit.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 trouble

I got it to fit, the wholes drilled in the actual case just arent aligned that great w/ the ones on the psu, with a lil force i got it to fit tho, the writing on the psu also confused me, its reversed when it goes in opposed to what is showed in the picture
__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 trouble

please note that its spelled holes not wholes

and lol, I can see all your fingerprints on that case
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open box Gigabyte Aurora 570 (Black) Cheap aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 03-30-2008 03:30 PM
Small mod on my Gigabyte Aurora 570 aspire Overclocking and Modding 12 03-25-2008 12:33 AM
Gigabyte 3D Aurora question almightyobo New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-14-2008 03:19 PM
Gigabyte 3D Aurora question... zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-24-2007 12:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.