Ghost in my Computer!?!?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2004, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default Ghost in my Computer!?!?!

I have been coming home and finding my pc on, I had thought that my wife was turning it on and couldnt get in then leaving it on. But this morning i shut it off and like two minutes later in front of me it just came on!!!! WTF????? I was thiking maybe the power switch is jammed but it seems to be just fine. It does not shut off ar anything on its own just turns back on and powers up after it is shut down. Any help????
__________________

..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Yah dude you got like ghosts and nomes. Sucks for you. I dont know dude
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 03:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Check the bios lost, there's a timer on the bios that will make your computer boot up automatically at selected times, maybe it has something to do with that =/ that's my only guess
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 06:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

just turn the power off from the wall
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

Thats what i have to do but I should not have to do that.
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 11:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

I'd check the yellow pages and find a good excorcist.

lol thats all I know to do...sorry.
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

How about some Ad aware & spyware scans?

I had a friend who couldn't turn his computer off, spy bot S&D fixed that. Funny how yours just turns back on. Sp(o)(o)ky!
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

I think that I found it, was a setting in the bios called wake on LAN and it was enabled. Turned it off and hasn't came on again.:freak:
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 03:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you could of at least pretended it was possesed by demons so we could all get a laugh out of it :sigh: WOL does not trigger on unless somebody speciffically sends a magic packet with your network card's MAC address on it....in two places inside the magic packet actually. this isn't something that can be triggered accidentally unless maybe the network card is glitchy. on some mobos they have a feature to wake up the computer at a set time called wake-on-alarm.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 01:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

lol.. no one feels like listening to me.. i'm just demalii =(
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.