GFX card error... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 11:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to PrimeIntensity
Default GFX card error...

When my brother attempts to run World of Warcraft the screen flashes and a dialog box reading VPU error: the graphics accelerator couldnt be read by the driver. I have the newest driver installed. I have gigabyte k8ns ultra mb, and AMD 64 3200+ Venice. I have the CPU overclocked at 2.3. What is the problem with the video card? Any ideas?
I might end up getting a new video card... although I'd like to just fix this and save me some money.
[EDIT] CARD: Radeon 9600 PRO 256 MB
__________________

PrimeIntensity is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 11:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

What kind of vid card do you have?
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to PrimeIntensity
Default

Wow what a moron I forgot that... sorry. Yea it's a 256mb Radeon 9600 Pro.
PrimeIntensity is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I would go into safe mode, uninstall the driver. Then, boot into normal mode, and install the driver again.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to PrimeIntensity
Default

Ok, what I did was lower my speed on Venice 3200+ to 2.2, from 2.3 and everything works fine. Anything I can do the card to make it function at a higher overclock speed on CPU?
I think it's strange that the speed on the CPU makes the GFX not function. Especially when my case temp is 26 and MB is 25!
PrimeIntensity is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.