Getting ready to overclock - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2007, 02:01 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

So your using a usb mouse? One of the fixes for not overclocking was disabling legacy usb in bios. Might want to try that.

Anything thing else you changed before trying to overclock again?
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 03:04 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Thats pretty much the only thing i can remember, cause i had my mouse plugged into my laptop the first time. I'll try disabling legacy usb, although I didn't change that the first time. oh, and is that the supreme commander beta you have? or is it out already?
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 06:04 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

Its the beta. Supcom should be coming out late q1 i hope.

As for the usb legacy, its not that you messed with it before. Its something that apparently affects your overclock some how. Honestly all the information i get for overclocking on the ds3, ive been reading on xtreme systems so i don't have first hand experience with this board. But it seems you have to fiddle with it and then you will get a good overclock.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 11:24 AM   #34 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default

I have a Gigabyte S3, so I may be able to help you out. Although I haven't been able to keep my voltage at stock past a 275 FSB. Once I go higher I have to increase it. But along with it I also increase the Northbridge voltage, and the MCH(not sure what that is for but it helped). I usually would only increase it +.2 for the NB, and +.1 for the MCH. I got to 3.01 ghz at one point, and for some reason cpu-z was registering it as running on 1.2 volts, which is retarded because thats below stock voltage, and is virtually impossible to do.

But nonetheless, I think it was actually set at 1.425, or 1.4500, I can't remember because I actually ended up wanting to lower the vcore because of temp issues, it was running at over 50, it stayed below 60 though. Mind you this was while running Orthos, but I didn't want to take any chances incase, so I lowered it.

So basically I would suggest changing the NB voltage and MCH voltage as well and see what you can get out of that. I also have DDR2 667 ram, so I don't think you should really have a problem with reaching 2.8 even.
__________________

__________________
NZXT Apollo
Gigabyte 965P-S3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Corsair DDR2 667 Value Ram-1 GB
SilverStone NT06
2x300GB Maxtor Hard drives
Sony DVD Burner
19\" Dell LCD Monitor
jared17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.