Getting the most out of a laptop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 03:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Laptops are made to be portable and run on batteries. You can't have a super fast, power sucking system if you want to be able to run it on a battery. Heat is another major factor with the tight space inside a laptop.

Quote:
Originally posted by digima$ter
Laptops are not made to be the best gamers. They are made for work and durability and will be slow with a big juicy game.(Trust me I had a laptop and it sucked). The problem with laptops is the cache and usually the RAM are low and that is EXTREMELY bad for games. If u want to game get a desktop like me.
I have to somewhat disagree with this comment. My laptop has a 1.7 GHz Pentium M which has 2 MB of L2 cache. It also has 1 GB of DDR2 533 RAM. The video card is only a ATI Radeon X300 (which I have overclocked to 497/335) and it will play DOOM 3 no problem. I have the graphics set on ultra (highest) and I don't go below 20fps usually, but my resolution is set on the lowest, which is ok by me. My laptop is on slouch, but it's no super computer either because I still need it to be portable.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OpticalIllusion
Laptops are made to be portable and run on batteries. You can't have a super fast, power sucking system if you want to be able to run it on a battery. Heat is another major factor with the tight space inside a laptop.


I have to somewhat disagree with this comment. My laptop has a 1.7 GHz Pentium M which has 2 MB of L2 cache. It also has 1 GB of DDR2 533 RAM. The video card is only a ATI Radeon X300 (which I have overclocked to 497/335) and it will play DOOM 3 no problem. I have the graphics set on ultra (highest) and I don't go below 20fps usually, but my resolution is set on the lowest, which is ok by me. My laptop is on slouch, but it's no super computer either because I still need it to be portable.
ummmm ya thats not a "the best gaming computer" if it was it would run doom on full setting with hightest res, and +60 FPS

your laptop is like a C-, maby a D+ computer, not a A +, only like 400 people have A+ computer,

but it is +VERY nice for a laptp, props duds, props, is it a FragBooK???

~NOGA 8()
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NOGA
ummmm ya thats not a "the best gaming computer" if it was it would run doom on full setting with hightest res, and +60 FPS

your laptop is like a C-, maby a D+ computer, not a A +, only like 400 people have A+ computer,

but it is +VERY nice for a laptp, props duds, props, is it a FragBooK???

~NOGA 8()
Nope, it's actually only a Dell. I got a deal at only $1100 and I like it. lol Thanks for props.

You're right though, no laptop is going to be the best computer at anything but mobility. As far as power and expansion goes, the desktop is always going to win. More upgrades, more space, and better cooling.

I'm just saying that todays laptops will hold their own at performance and gaming. They do pretty decent, but are far from the BEST, much like 80% of the desktops out there today. It takes lots of money to have the best.

To the original question, there isn't much you can really do since you have integrated video. I don't think you can even overclock that. Here is what you can do if you want to tear into your new laptop.

1. Upgrade to the 2.2 GHz Pentium M. If your mobo can support it.
2. Upgrade to 2 GB of RAM. Again, if your mobo can support it.
2. Upgrade the video card. After you do this, you will be able to overclock it for more performance.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

Yeah I know it's no good for games in a hardware pespective. Gamings not what I intended to use it for. But what can i do to get more speed. I.e. software tweaks, graphics driver tweaks etc. I do have a proper desktop gaming computer which I have built but I just wanted to be able to play games with my mates once in a while over the network. I don't really intend to game on the move only at home (it's more comfortable and has a constant power supply). I use my desktop when I have no mates round but when i do they want to play as well so i wanted to be able to play the newer games hence the need for extra power. In other words i want my laptop to run faster without buying a new one. Anyway that set aside is it possible to add extra RAM to my laptop ?
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kahlos
Yeah I know it's no good for games in a hardware pespective. Gamings not what I intended to use it for. But what can i do to get more speed. I.e. software tweaks, graphics driver tweaks etc. I do have a proper desktop gaming computer which I have built but I just wanted to be able to play games with my mates once in a while over the network. I don't really intend to game on the move only at home (it's more comfortable and has a constant power supply). I use my desktop when I have no mates round but when i do they want to play as well so i wanted to be able to play the newer games hence the need for extra power. In other words i want my laptop to run faster without buying a new one. Anyway that set aside is it possible to add extra RAM to my laptop ?
Read my post above.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

How do i add a graphics card. If it only has an onboard one. And is it really possible to upgrade the CPU ? And is it worth it ?
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Sent you a PM.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.