GeForceFX 5200 Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default GeForceFX 5200 Overclocking

what are good overclocking settings for my GeForceFX 5200? i've never overclocked before. i'm nervous about damaging the card but, since the card is a piece of junk anyways, i'm willing to consider overclocking. i'm just not sure what to overclock it to without damaging it. any help would be great.
__________________

bobafett573 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

What are your system temps??
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i wouldn't think about overclocking a 5200, it's just that crappy of a card, i know, i own one.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

system temps are:
CPU temp = 34 C/93 F
Motherboard temp = 32 C/89 F

and yes, i do want to overclock it. you think i don't know it's a horrible card? no, i do know it is. It's the worst video card i ever had. my MX400 performs about the same as it does and that thing is old and not too powerful. but i still want to overclock it and get the best that i can out of it. any good settings that work without damaging it?
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ohGrFreak
i wouldn't think about overclocking a 5200, it's just that crappy of a card, i know, i own one.
If its crappy, then it is obviously in need of overclocking. The only limitations you might have are cooling, locked out BIOS, or frail build quality. If you have a decent card and good cooling then overclocking is possible to the cards limits, jsut cuz' it's a low end card doesn't mean its gonna suck overclockign wise...and who knows maybe you'll get a big performance boost. MX-440 64MB card i used to have "sucked"...but it went to 350 core 500 memory and wasn't even topped out. Only reason i ditched it is cuz it has pixel shader 1.1 and i needed 2.0+ to run Thief 3. It was LOADS faster than my 9200 with it's locked BIOS
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

still that doesn't answer my question. what should i change the settings to? i don't want to ruin it. i'm using riva tuner by the way. i don't have to mess with the bios.
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bobafett573
still that doesn't answer my question. what should i change the settings to? i don't want to ruin it. i'm using riva tuner by the way. i don't have to mess with the bios.
theres more than 1 BIOS in your computer. your GFX card runs on its own BIOS configuration...if it's locked you cant overclock at all unless you flash it to a different one. if you knwo its unlocked...then i would go in 10MHz increments and check for stability and overheating after every bum p upwards. run a game and see if u get pixels or anything weird after overclocking...once you got no distortion problems run it for a good 2+hrs. and make sure it doesnt overheat.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 10:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

how can i keep my video card cool?
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 07:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bobafett573
how can i keep my video card cool?
slap an 80mm on it if you're ghetto But you na get a better cooler for it pretty cheap with a better fan and solid copper base/huge aluminum base. just make sure it fits on there...
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.