geforce MX 400 being ridiculous - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2005, 05:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default geforce MX 400 being ridiculous

Got a problem here. I recieved a used GeForce MX 400 64mb card from a friend. It's a decent little card. Or at least it should be. I am running Windows 98 on a PIII 866, 384MB RAM (tested with memtest86+ and everything checked out fine), no OCing, all BIOS settings are very conservative to eliminate room for errors. Every windows 98 update is installed (including dx 9.0c). I am using the nvidia geforce driver version 71.84. It's the most recent one at the moment. The mobo's BIOS is the most current one as well. When I'm browsing the web, or playing Counter-Strike, or whatever, I will get random clickings. What I mean by this is that the monitor seems to lose signal for a second. It is usually about one second only at a time that this happens. I'll be scrolling down a webpage in IE and I'll hear "click" from the monitor when the screen goes black and then another "click" from the monitor when the screen goes back to normal. The intervals vary. Sometimes it will do this once every 30 seconds, and sometimes once every 5 seconds. Ridiculous. I can't use the PC like this. It seems to happen the most when steam (valve) is running when I'm doing click-and-drags with IE or steam. I was excited about putting together a little PC out of these spare parts.
__________________

MessiahNet is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 09:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Okay have you tried another monitor, that's the first thing to do

Note for other people: His drivers are recent enough, dont tell him to go to 89's

If it happens on all monitors, it sounds like your card is going crazy with refresh rates, you can try setting different refresh rates (right click on desktop than properties, find out the rest)
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

thanks bro, I'll try
MessiahNet is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah tell me how it goes

If you post again and I dont see this thread, send me a PM
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.