Geek Squad - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2005, 02:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Something Sexy
Well I hope you get a 3rd source from half the crap people say on these forums.
I do, for example that is why gaara, nubius, and other known members are here.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 02:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

I believe some stores have good ppl and some just have terribly junk ppl who just have an A+ cert certificate. A couple of years ago, i actually believed what they said. Not anymore...

Roger
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 09:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Him is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 09:26 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default

Precisely...


Do you guys know any of the agents personally?

"No" (I'll predict your ignorant answers in this awesome solo roleplay)

Oh well then keep your traps shut...

"Ok im stupid, so sorry"
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

For the main part, every large store (Best buy, staples, office depot and futreshop) have dumb ****ty people working for them.

In a chain store, I have had one person know what he is talking about.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Him is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Well did you read also what I said???? If I heard anything that they tried to tell me or anybody else, I would verify it thru a 3rd source



ALSO:
Quote:
It is a serperate company that Best Buy contracts out. Do you honestly think that Best Buy would pay for another company that is ****ty if they could just get their own ****ty employees? You also need several certifications to be on the Geek Squad.
It seems to me that Geek Squad is owned by the parent company of Best Buy, they are intregrated. I dont think they would have best buy contract out geek squad, AND handle the employment process?!?!?!?
http://careers.bestbuy.com/
(if you can see, the geek squad is on the best buy employment page)

You do not need any A+ certifications to be Geek Squad. They recommend one, but if you dont have one you take a test to at least prove you skills.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Perhaps you didnt read what I said up above:



It is a serperate company that Best Buy contracts out. Do you honestly think that Best Buy would pay for another company that is ****ty if they could just get their own ****ty employees? You also need several certifications to be on the Geek Squad.
I read, and certifactions dont mean **** all, and neither to contracted people.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

They overcharge, and they don't know crap about computers, except they know how to recommend you parts that suck or you don't need, they have a gift for that.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.