Gaming Computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2004, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default Gaming Computer?

Im trying to decide whether to build a computer or not as the one ive got now is not suitable for gaming, so if i do build it will be used for games and games only really. This is what ive been looking at....

AMD (Newcastle) Athlon 64bit 3000+ - £95.27 ($183.60)
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=58431

Asus K8V-SE Deluxe S754 - £72.00 ($138.78)
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=59993

Corsair 512mb - £51.67 ($99.59)
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=66402

Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA150 7200rpm - £52.26 ($100.73)
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=50949


Total - - £271.20 ($552.35) This total includes the 754amd64 cpu with asus k8v se deluxe mobo. With the 939 its a little more.

Ive already got a case and the monitor, keyboard and mouse i can take off an old computer. The only thing i need help deciding on is the graphics card (dont think theres anything ive missed apart from cd-rom)

My new family computer has a nvidia 6600 256mb which seems really good playing far cry and such and its around £100. Are there any others around this price that are better/just as good?

Also if you could do a quick check to make sure everything is compatible, i think it is but its good to double check

Would this be quite good for gaming too?

Thanks for your time
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It all looks pretty good, although as always, I will recommend that you go with socket 939 rather than 754 to keep the door open for upgrades.

That PC should be able to handle most games you throw at it, I'd throw in another stick of 512 though and go dual channel, but it's not neccesary.

That's a pretty good graphics card there, not top of the line, but it'll do the trick. I'm not familiar with pounds however so I can't help you price anything unfortunetely though.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Default

try the 6600gt if you can it will be a great upgrade for the price for all your games.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y180/Fitzfan/futureresized.jpg\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
fitzfan is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

i will look into the 6600gt then and see how much more it is.

About getting another stick of 512mb, i will probaly upgrade that a few months down the line just not at the start to keep the cost down.

socket 939 seem to be alot more expensive from what i can recall but i will look into it. That would mean i would have to change my mobo choice to though lol

edit: a 939 amd64 3000+ is only a pound more (thats about $2-$3 i think) but it says winchester in brackets, is that better/worse than newcastle? and ive seen this mobo
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=72725
how would this combo of cpu and mobo compared to the ones i posted earlier?


edit 2: do nvidia cards go well with amds? ive heard that ati are better with amds and nvidia with intels, is there any truth to this?

edit 3: how do PCI-E cards comapre to AGP cards? PCI-E seem to be less expensive but do they lack performance?
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Default

if u are getting an amd u have to get a agp card, and your mobo must have an agp slot, if you are going intel then u can get a PCI-E card but you must have a motherboard that supports it, which i believe will be more than a regular pci and agp mobo and u can also still go agp with an intel as long as the mobo has a slot for it whick almost every new mobo does.

look at the expansion slots., both mobos u listed has 5 pci REGULAR slots, 1 agp, and NO PCI-E, so u would have to go agp with that one. i am pretty sure amd doesnt not have PCI-E.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y180/Fitzfan/futureresized.jpg\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
fitzfan is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

hey whats dual channel? and whats it for? graphics card, hard drive, processor?
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 09:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

What I wanna know is what "Family" computer came with a 6600?
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The Winchester core you were inquiring about earlier is the better way to go, Winchester cores run a lot cooler than the newcastle cores.

The motherboard you've picked out is pretty good, your configuration looks like it can handle most procceses pretty easily.

To the person inquiring about a dual channel setup, it refers to a setup in which you use two sticks of memory as opposed to one, and has increased performance capabilities. Motherboards must support this feature though (but really, which ones don't these days?).
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 03:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

i say that for the VGA card definitly get the 6600GT it offers almost 2X the performance of the 6600 in most tasks and don't be fooled by the 128mb. that is ddr3 and is clocked at 1ghz as opposed to the regular ddr on the 6600
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 04:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

lol the 'family' computer that came with that graphics card is an advent t something.

P4 3.4 GHz
512mb RAM
250gb HDD 7200 rpm
6600 graphics card

Was £900 reduced from £1100.

So now that i cant get PCI-E graphics card. What good AGP cards are there for around £130. When i said the 6600 was £100 that was PCI-E that i was looking at and not AGP :/
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.