Gaming comp, first time building - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2005, 09:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
How about this:
DFI "LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D" NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProdu...-136-152&depa=0
Instead of the SLI board and:
eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, Dual DVI/TV-Out, PCI-Express, Model "256-P2-N376-AX" -RETAIL
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProdu...-130-215&depa=0

And yes I'm planing on OCing this bad boy but not yet, in like a few months.
I say that looks good. Now take the money you saved and get some better RAM
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 10:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

for your power supply, get an ocz mod/powerstream, antec neopower, fortron bluestorm, or any thermaltake that's atx2.0

your power supply won't work cuz it's 20pin
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 10:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Well, looks like everything HAS been said so I will just second it to help you make decisions. That new board and card looks good, you wont be needing SLI if you only have 1 card and glad you found a PCI-E. Further, get BETTER RAM and PSU. With a system like that, your going to want some G. Skill or OCZ RAM.(dont get 4*256 sticks I have heard nothing but bad news from people trying that with that board, so go for 2*512)
For the PSU go OCZ Mod-stream or Antec Neopower. Other than that, tiiiiiiiiiiight system and make sure you save up for a second rapter hard drive so you can put those bad boys in raid 0.
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 11:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default

Ok. Here is a complete(?) Setup.
AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 512K, L2 Cache, Socket 939 Windows Compatible 64-bit Processor - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-514&depa=0
DFI "LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D" NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...136-152&depa=0
Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD740GD, OEM Drive Only
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-160&depa=0
Thermaltake SOPRANO VB1000SWS Silver ATX Mid Tower Case With X type side panel window -RETAIL
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...133-146&depa=1
Lite-On Black 16X DVD+/-R DVD Burner support Dual Layer, Model SOHW-1673S BK, Retail
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-966&depa=0
eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, Dual DVI/TV-Out, PCI-Express, Model "256-P2-N376-AX" -RETAIL
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-215&depa=0
G.skill (Samsung TCCD) Dual Channel Kit 184-Pin 1GB(512MB x 2) DDR PC-4400, Model F1-3200DSU2-1GBLC- Retail
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...231-002&depa=1
Antec 480 watt 120mm fan ATX 12V v2.0 power supply, Active PFC, Model "NeoPower" - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...103-924&depa=0

Total: $1,434.96

I really appreciate the help, I'd also like to ask if anyone could check one more time for compatibility. Thx.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 11:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Oh, I should have mentions, you should make sure your CPU core is Winchester. Everything else looks good, and better cooling is good if your planning on overclocking. I recommend Zalman copper heatsink fans. Also Artic Silver 5 would help keep your CPU cooler. Heatspreaders might be good to put on that RAM.

CPU-http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-494&depa=0

CPU Fan-http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=35-118-115&depa=1

Thermal compound-http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=35-100-008&depa=1

vga fan-http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=35-118-117&depa=1

Also, for the cpu cooler you could get a smaller version, I don't know if the larger one will fit on that mobo. The Winchester core will run be cooler than clawhammer, its oem so it wont have a stock fan, but if you get a zalmans fan you wont need stock, ill go see if the large fan will fit on that mobo.
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 11:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

I checked, I did find that one guy in another forum uses that heatsink fan on that mobo. Thats the best I can get on google, the other sites that could help are in diff languages. And I also found you a heatspreader for your memory.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...110-105&depa=0

these are copper and have good reviews. I would get 2 of them since that G.Skill RAM doesn't have any.

That should do it if your overclocking, good luck.
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 12:41 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I don't think he needs heatspreaders for the memory. If he get's the Zalman 7700-cu it will cool the RAM well enough, with appropriate case fans even moreso. And that RAM is PC-4400 so odds are with a good overclock he will be running the ram slightly underclocked or at stock so the heat shouldn't be an issue at all.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 11:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default

So is the memory fine w/o heatspeaders?
And should I get the Clawhammer or Winchester core?
Winchester is w/o the stock fan and is more expensive, and im gettin the zelman CPU Fan. Will it make a difference?

And 1 more thing. Wouldn't it be better if I got two 72k rpm HDDs and set them in RAID 0 ?? I'd really like it to be fast.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 12:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

The ram should be fine without heat spreaders.

Winchester core is best.

Yes get the OEM processor without the stock fan.

The zalman will makea difference, it will give you better temperatures, allow you to overclock further, cool your other components better by providing more airflow, and will be much quieter than the stock fan.

If you can afford it two 7200 rpm drives in RAID 0 would be a good idea. I have 2 80gb western digital caviar's in RAID 0 and they make no noise compared to my raptor which is very noisy and they are very, very fast. They seem faster than my raptor, plus are cheaper, plus make far less noise, plus more storage. I think it's the way to go.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 01:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Ohhh, when i was looking at the G Skill PC3200 512MB X2 sticks. It was 300$, more expensive then the 4400.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.