G Skill LA's at Newegg - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2005, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default G Skill LA's at Newegg

Just incase anyone was looking for these. They have been very hard to fine lately...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231008
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

SHHHHHHHHHHHH, why you giving out the secret!?
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

D'oh! DELETE THIS THREAD! :classic:
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Damn they're getting cheap now...I think I paid more for these damn tcc5s than those are going for now...HOWEVER be warned, the rev2s drastically dropped in price shortly after they started using tcc5s and I know the LAs have been floating in and out of stock for a while now so there is no gurantee these are tccds anymore
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah they used to be like $300+.....but I paid $225 for my patriots a year ago, now they are $150....not sure if they use TCCD's or not anymore, like I told you via PM, when I asked the dude from patriot he wouldn't comment on it....the heatspreaders are different, it's still brainpowerPCB, but they are using a red PCB now instead of green, so that makes me wonder if my patriots are using TCC5s now as well =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yeah...OCZ stamped "v1.1" in really small writing on the heatspreaders on the tcc5s...and of course you can always take off the heatspreaders to confirm what you have

I'm still not sure what the situation is with samsung...there have been rumours for ages now that they have/are going to discontinue tccd production

Especially with DDR1 on its last leg now they really have no reason not to...I could care less about DDR2 since I plan on keeping this AMD64 for a long time...hopefully I can skip DDR2 entirely
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 09:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

OMG!!! I WANT TO BUY IT!! they put nice heatsinks on them lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Would that G.Skill be better for an AMD 64 X2 system than this stuff,

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820227217

*Note the OCZ uses TCCD chips as well.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j4ckaL
Would that G.Skill be better for an AMD 64 X2 system than this stuff,

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820227217

*Note the OCZ uses TCCD chips as well.
Long as your MOBO supports DDR 600 ram (as most new ones do, i know mine doesn't). I couldn't see spending the extra $30 on this though as the DDR 400s will provide nearly the same performance.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
*Note the OCZ uses TCCD chips as well.
if you go to the OCZ website, they have a press release regarding the fact that they use TCC5's now, not TCCDs
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.