FX6300 safely overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2015, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 70
Default FX6300 safely overclock

Hello,

My specs :

Mobo : asus m5a78l-m lx3
CPU : AMD FX6300
PSU : 650W

I want to safely overclock my cpu so i need you to tell me what exactly to do
__________________

kareklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

I wouldn't. What's the purpose, you after more FPS in games? If so OC your GPU instead.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 70
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

What about 4k videos? I recorded from my note 3 a 4k video testing and i ran it with VLC on pc and it lags...My gpu is gtx 680
kareklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

You have something else wrong then, as the hardware decode should be on the GPU. How well does the 4k video playback on the phone? What codecs are you running with VLC?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 70
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

What do u mean how well? Its normal at 30fps...I had it also zoomed.Where do i find what codecs i'm running?
kareklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by kareklas View Post
What do u mean how well? Its normal at 30fps...I had it also zoomed.Where do i find what codecs i'm running?
Ok, does it lag at all on the phone? Are you mistaking blur for lag?

Download this (left button) and run the video with MPC.
CCCP - Combined Community Codec Pack
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 70
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

Won't lag on the phone and media player classic...So it's vlc's problem.What to do?
kareklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

You try VLC after the codec install?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 09:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 70
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You try VLC after the codec install?
still lags...
kareklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 10:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: FX6300 safely overclock

So ditch it. VLC blows anyways.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows services I can safely disable? digitaloracle Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-08-2005 10:09 AM
no "you can now safely turn off your computer" yakir_sudry Microsoft Windows and Software 13 08-04-2004 12:52 PM
how high can i safely go jblaze725 Overclocking and Modding 7 03-18-2004 09:46 PM
Safely Remove Hardwarwe ADZ Microsoft Windows and Software 11 05-30-2003 02:01 AM
Safely Remove Hardware in XP jhouse Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-15-2002 04:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.