"Future Proofing" on a budget? (long post)

Status
Not open for further replies.

VikingCrown

Beta member
Hello everyone, I've been cruising around these boards and people seem to be very helpful here, so I figured i'd hit you with my Digital Imaging/Future Proofed (sorta)/Budget PC.

I have a budget somewhere in the range of $ 600-700. The machine I'm looking for will primarily be for photoshop and Microsoft's Digital Image Suite, My wife is heavy into Digital Scrapbooking, so we're talking about 120mb layouts. I am also an engineer, so I will be doing some CAD from home, but not too much. The only game that the machine would be used for maybe is The Sims 2. Ideally I would like to get as many parts for this system that will be upgradable in 2 years or so, so that I don't have to build a whole new system (kinda like what's happening now).

I can Cannibalize from my current maching. CD burner, monitor, keyboard, mouse, printer, scanner, sound card, and even video card i guess. i have a radeon 9000 128mb card. I have an OS so i'm set there too. Something else to consider, I am not building this until after christmas (so that i'm not the only one footing the bill )

From what I've gathered, PCI-e is the next big thing, so I'd like to have that. I don't really have a preference in Intel Vs. AMD, But I thought I read somewhere that for applications like photoshop Intel is the way to go. I don't have a problem going with onboard video and audio to start, unless it would really adversley effect the processing of the digital images.

Well, now that I have rambled on, I'll leave it to the pro's. Thank you in advance, I appreciate everyone's input.

Thanks in advance,
Brian