Future processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Future processors

i heard theres a 64 bit intel with 8mb of l3 cache coming out. is this true and if it is how much do you think it will cost. also, are there any other processors worth waiting for?
__________________

PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I was also wondering this actually...I've heard that there are some things scheduled to come out in the summer of 2005 but can anyone confirm this?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

That sounds like a Xeon, their will be no such processor with 8mb L3 cache thats affordable. That can also be a Intel M, but those processor are damn expensve. Anything with 8mb cache will be extremely expensive.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Uh...nice way to put it there, codeine...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Trotter, what do you mean by that? If its towards me being a little flagrant. Then i seemed a little aggressive. But i want people to understand that anything with 8mb cache from Intel is not going to be a normal desktop computer, witch would be affordable at that matter.

I know the Pentium M's have high cache sizes, and they are really damn expensive. But just because something has alot of cache dont really mean they are fast.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 12:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yep, its going to be over 1 g.....
.............
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

just like the fx-55 is =/ all top end chips are gona cost you, and seeing as intel only just released a 2mb cache, i dont think 8mb is gona be around just yet
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The 8MB is for Servers (XEON)
There is a 2MB for PC's
Both 64 bit
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.