fsb questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2006, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default fsb questions

hi im a noob here but i recently built my own system and i was wondering a few things about the front side bus

i use the AMD Athlon 64 3700+ processor (2.4 Ghz) and it says 1600Mhz fsb support. my motherboard also says it can support a 1600 Mhz fsb. but when i check my fsb, it says its running at 200Mhz with a 12x multiplier. why is it not using the full 1600 Mhz?? what can i do to change it?
__________________

simster571 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Don't worry, it is. 200 is the pre-effective mhz clock. And technically, you don't have a chip with FSB technology. It's been changed a little, and it uses Hyper Transport technology.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

so the 1600 bus thing doesnt matter? there is no way to change it to the full 1600 MHz? how do i know the hyper transport is working?
simster571 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

It is. It's already at 1600mhz. Don't sweat it. It's semi-complicated. Run a google search if you want to learn how it works and why it is '1600mhz'

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.