fsb oc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2008, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default fsb oc

In my 750i ftw bios, it mentions the voltage to core, and then voltage to the fsb. What should i set this too? or how should i know?

| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: fsb oc

Core voltage is for high CPU frequencies (Core Speed)
You only want to increase you FSB voltage if your fsb gets pretty high, I have the 680i, and have gone from 1333 fsb to 1893, and have not had to increase the fsb voltage, just vcore. So i would say dont mess with fsb voltage

Burn is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: fsb oc

I would just add vcore and if it becomes unstable and your running a high FSB then I would proceed to add FSB voltage. I would doubt that you would need it anyways for your quad.
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 05:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
Poizen22's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,277
Default Re: fsb oc

how is overlcoking the q6600 on that, have you stoped at 3.3 due to heat. allso will my tuniq tower fit over the north bridge cooler.

intel Core I7 4770k@ 4.0ghz-Nvidia GTX980-MSI Z87G45 mobo-8gb ddr3 Corsair Vengeance Blue-ADATA SX900 128gb ssd 2x in raid 0 500gb hdd and 1tb network drive- EVGA 750w bronze-NZXT RAZER H440 LE-55 inch samsung 8000 series LEd-BENQ XL2411Z-Logitech z906 THX 5.1, Microsoft sculpt KB Razer NAGA 2014
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: fsb oc

i had a bad chip got a new chip in, and now im on a stock hsf becuase my watercooling isnt all in yet. But, ill know within the week, and ill post my results.
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: fsb oc

Wow, 1893 on stock FSB voltage? I think i have my FSB running at 1.5v on my 680i.

Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Always wondered VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-19-2008 11:45 PM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 07:04 PM
Noob question regarding FSB speeds. manowar Overclocking and Modding 10 12-26-2007 05:35 PM
FSB and RAM mnelson07 Overclocking and Modding 24 10-03-2007 08:43 PM
Mainboard FSB, help. HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-16-2007 03:05 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.