FSB Holes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2008, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default FSB Holes

What are they? How do you get around them?
__________________

Burn is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: FSB Holes

I've never heard of that terminology before. But im assuming you're talking about the gaps between OC sppeds in relation to the CPU frequency. If this is what you're talking about its usually your motherboard holding you back. The FSB is near impossible to control via software. Its usually your BIOS that takes care of that.
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: FSB Holes

A new bios revision sometimes fixes it. Fsb holes can be small like 400- 405 or large like 400-470.

Edit: Here's what I got from Google
"The hole is mostly due to a strap trap (when some buses sync to the CPU bus, certain clock speeds become too high - but then work correctly at even higher clock speeds), a timing issue, clock drop and jitter issues with the clock generator"
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: FSB Holes

Usually they were common on 650i and 680i boards, but newer BIOS fixed that easily, or another alternate, was to use a low Multiplier and a really high FSB, or find where the hole of the FSB isn't active
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: FSB Holes

A higher FSB would be a matter of the motherboard being able to handle it right?
Burn is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: FSB Holes

yes siree
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 12:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: FSB Holes

so if i make the fsb too high i could fry the motherboard?
Burn is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 01:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: FSB Holes

You would be in danger of possibly blowing the northbridge especially.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 05:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: FSB Holes

If you make the voltages too high you can fry. Otherwise you'll get a blue screen. Just don't jump too high. Obviously anything around the 480-500+ area is cool. If your mb can hit that high.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 10:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: FSB Holes

I have an EVGA 680i, how far do you think i can push it?
__________________

Burn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
Noob question regarding FSB speeds. manowar Overclocking and Modding 10 12-26-2007 06:35 PM
FSB and RAM mnelson07 Overclocking and Modding 24 10-03-2007 09:43 PM
Mainboard FSB, help. HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-16-2007 04:05 AM
Apple Fixes Critical Holes Osiris Apple and Mac 0 05-11-2007 09:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.