FSB and DDR clock relationship - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2006, 06:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Thanks, I see the whole picture now much better.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Sorry not trying to steal the thread but I have a question. I've got this ram http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148007

and an opteron 146. Would I have to run a memory divider to overclock?
__________________

curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by curtcheese64
Sorry not trying to steal the thread but I have a question. I've got this ram http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148007

and an opteron 146. Would I have to run a memory divider to overclock?
That really just depends. It is DDR 400 RAM, but it is also suppose to be pretty good overclocking RAM. It would just depend on how far your CPU is able to go and how far your RAM is able to go before you would know whether it would be beneficial to use a divider.

Example
The 146 runs at 2Ghz right? Anyways, let's suppose it does. Stock settings are:
CPU: 200x10=2Ghz
RAM 200Mhz 1:1

Let's say your CPU is able to do 2.6Ghz max AND that RAM is max stable at 260, or DDR520. You would simply set it at:
CPU: 260x10=2.6Ghz
RAM: 260Mhz 1:1

Now lets say your CPU can still max at 2.6Ghz, but the RAM max's at 240. The you might go with something like:

CPU: 290x9 = ~2.6Ghz
RAM: 240 with a 6:5 divider

Make sense?
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

So I should see how how my ram will go, then overclock the cpu and set the divider?
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You should find the max speed of both independently, and the set the best combination to max out both.

Find max CPU by using the biggest divider on the RAM (ie 100Mhz or 2:1 depending on BIOS) and raising FSB/HTT, raising vcore etc so you can OVC the CPU without the RAM being OC'd.

The find the max RAM by lowering the CPU multi (6 0or 7 for example), putting the divider back to 1:1 and raising FSB/HTT and vdimm, adjusting timings etc, until you find max RAM, this should leave the CPU from being overclocked.

The you use the multi, divider etc that puts both at their max stable speeds.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just remember the #1 rule of overclocking. TAKE IT EASY. if you rush there is a good chance you will fry a processor that just took you a year to buy because you did something in 10 minutes instead of 2 hours.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.