Fsb? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2005, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default Fsb?

I really know nothing about computers, so please forgive my ignorance because I'm sure the questions I'm going to ask are going to sound very dumb. I fried the northbridge chip on my computer playing games so I have to replace the motherboard. It just came in the mail and I'm sitting here staring at the manual. It seemed like something I could do but I just realized I have to mess with the jumper thingies and I have no idea what the cpu frequency is supposed to be set at. My cpu is a Athlon xp 2600. Does anyone know what it's supposed to be set at? The settings the board supports are 100, 133, 166, and 200. Thanks for the help.
__________________

onamission is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well, do you have good cooling? At stock I believe the 2600 runs at 1.9 Ghz, so why not try around 166, I think AMD has 12-13 multipliers. If you have a lot of fans and your computer runs cooler, then boost it up to 200.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default

the operating frequency is 1.9GHZ, FSB is 166mhz, and the cpu multiplier is 11.5. which =1909mhz.
jester6565 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Thanks, I thought it was somewhere around there.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Don't worry about asking dumb questions, that's why we're here

First, here's a little background on front side bus. For an Intel CPU, the FSB value is quad-pumped, or multiplied by 4. For example, an Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz w/ 800 FSB would have the motherboard setting set at 200 MHz * 4 = 800 MHz. AMD CPU's are a bit different, and are multiplied by 2 instead of by 4. For your particular CPU, the FSB value is 333 MHz. Therefore, to answer your question you motherboard value should be set at 166 MHz, so that 166 MHz * 2 = 333 MHz. Also, when finding overall operating frequency, you take the CPU frequency, mulitply it by the multiplier for your particular CPU, and then you arrive at the operating frequency value. For your XP 2600+ it would look like this.

166 MHz * 11.5 = 1909 MHz, or 1.91 GHz.

Does that help a bit?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

No I don't have a lot of fans and don't plan to overclock, lol. I just need to set it at whatever the default should be. If it had plenty of cooling the heatsink wouldn't have popped off the northbridge while I was playing Everquest. Rofl. Thanks for the help. I'll set it at 166 and see what happens.
onamission is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 11:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, another question. When I look at the system properties as it is now, it says it's 2.12ghz. How is it 2.12 if it should be 1.91? I'm so confused now and I'm no good with math.
onamission is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 12:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Can you download CPU-Z and take a screenshot so we have an idea of what we're looking at?
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

« Ultra ATA | laptop »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.