Front Side Bus speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2004, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Question Front Side Bus speed

If a processor is only a 400 fsb and the system board is a 800 fsb my front side bus is only going to be 400? Am I correct if not please help me to better understand

Macadon is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504

It will stay at 400 mhz, the lower of the two speeds is always what the computer will operate at. What processor/ motherboard combo are you looking at?

<img src = \"\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15

Nothing spectacular I'm still looking right now and this is one of the combo that's available but I'm not getting it. I thought the lower speed would be the one to take prority, that's why I asked.
I want a 800fsb
X-Caliber PT800DBP Motherboard and P4 2.8GHz Processor
Macadon is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

I know nothing of Intels but I don't think you can just look at the processor FSB and motherboard FSB and be the same. Because Intels have the Hyper threading and quadra Pumping or something along those lines so that 400 actually turns into 800 I don't know though. Like I said I know NOTHING of Intels so I know theres someone who can shed some more light on it perhaps.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84

it will operate at 400Mhz, but with Hyper-Threading the processor works double the threads at once so it will basically work 800Mhz
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 10:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Actually, the FSB is 200MHz and is quad pumped. When it's quad pumped, the 'effective' FSB is 800MHz.

To answer Macadon's question, If the CPU does have a FSB of 400MHz then it wont use the motherboard effectively. Try and get a CPU with 800MHz CPU. It'll still work though.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.