Front Side Bus speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2004, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Question Front Side Bus speed

If a processor is only a 400 fsb and the system board is a 800 fsb my front side bus is only going to be 400? Am I correct if not please help me to better understand
__________________

Macadon is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 02:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

It will stay at 400 mhz, the lower of the two speeds is always what the computer will operate at. What processor/ motherboard combo are you looking at?
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Nothing spectacular I'm still looking right now and this is one of the combo that's available but I'm not getting it. I thought the lower speed would be the one to take prority, that's why I asked.
I want a 800fsb
X-Caliber PT800DBP Motherboard and P4 2.8GHz Processor
Macadon is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I know nothing of Intels but I don't think you can just look at the processor FSB and motherboard FSB and be the same. Because Intels have the Hyper threading and quadra Pumping or something along those lines so that 400 actually turns into 800 I don't know though. Like I said I know NOTHING of Intels so I know theres someone who can shed some more light on it perhaps.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Default

it will operate at 400Mhz, but with Hyper-Threading the processor works double the threads at once so it will basically work 800Mhz
__________________
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Actually, the FSB is 200MHz and is quad pumped. When it's quad pumped, the 'effective' FSB is 800MHz.

To answer Macadon's question, If the CPU does have a FSB of 400MHz then it wont use the motherboard effectively. Try and get a CPU with 800MHz CPU. It'll still work though.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.