Freeware to Test CPU at Load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2007, 08:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Freeware to Test CPU at Load

What is a good freeware program that works the CPU at loads, so I can test temperature and stability? Easier to use is better.
__________________

TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Orthos is what quite a few people use. Then I use CoreTemp to monitor/log temps.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Where can I download the latest version?
TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Super PI is another one, although it only uses one core.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Orthos would be the most popular. Prime95 is my preferred. It's basically Orthos, without the GUI.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 12:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaestro View Post
Where can I download the latest version?
techPowerUp! :: Download Orthos Stress Prime 2004
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Orthos , blend test.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Great suggestion. I have 2 follow-ups.

I have a quad QX6850. I ran Orthos, and it worked 2 of my 4 cores. At 100% for 2 of 4 cores, my CPU was at 60C to 63C.

I have 2 follow up questions. First, is there any freeware program that works ALL 4 cores? Second, theoretically, with temps of 60-63C working 2 cores at 100%, how much hotter would my CPU temp be if it was working all 4 cores?
TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

If you run P95. it is actually quite easy. Just go to the options and choose affinity. Open 4 of them and in each one set the affinity to 1, 2, 3, then 4.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 08:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
If you run P95. it is actually quite easy. Just go to the options and choose affinity. Open 4 of them and in each one set the affinity to 1, 2, 3, then 4.
P95 does that all by itself, as it natively supports 4 cores. You don't need to set affinity.

When you do run it, I've been told to do the Custom test, as the Blend eats up alot of RAM, which might cause a crash. So the custom is basically like the blend, but you set the amount of RAM it uses. I always set mine, half of what my total RAM amount, is.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
editing software puts heavy load on CPU? darsunt Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 10-03-2007 11:40 AM
cpu temp spiking advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-07-2007 10:49 AM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.