free? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 06:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default free?

Hi i was wondering what u can do to your computer to give it better performance for games thaT I CAN DO FOR FREE I DONT MIND HAVING TO OPEN UP MY COMPUTER OR ANY THING LIKE THAT

allso this is prob a stupid question but can you connect your playstation 2 to your pc so that it work with it to get better peformance or even take the procceser out and swap it with the one all ready in my pc

thanks for the time
__________________

mahono is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can overclock your CPU, memory and graphics card to get better performance in games.
You cannot connect the PS2 to the computer to get better performance or swap out with a CPU from your PC.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

If you open your computer, then one must assume that you are spending money to upgrade.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 02:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Follow these steps. Don't skip any, and go in order. When you are done, you'll have a cleaner, quicker rig. None of these speeds anything up, but it all will help get it working right.

1) Uninstall any unused or unneeded programs you have on your hard drive.

2) Download and run AdAware, Spybot, and possibly Microsoft AntiSpyware.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Ad-Aware_S...onal_d506.html
http://www.majorgeeks.com/SpyBot-Sea...roy_d2471.html
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
(All are free. Be sure to have each one update itself before you scan.)

3) Download and run TweakNow to clean up your computer's registry.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/TweakNow_R...ner_d4134.html

4) MSCONFIG (when used with the RUN command) opens up the System Configuration Utility. Most of the stuff in there you don't want to mess with unless you know what you are doing or have detailed instructions.

Click the STARTUP tab. The list that it pulls up is everything that you can choose to start up when Windows does.

Why is all of this stuff in the list? Because every program designer thinks his 'creation' is so indispensible that no one could possibly want it to NOT start up with their computer (yeah, right), so they set it into the list and have it to do just that.


Once you're at the list, look it over and see what all has a check mark. Every program that does starts up when Windows loads... EVERYTIME!

If something is checked, but you don't know what it is, Google it and find out.

Once you have seen what is there, uncheck everything that you don't need or want. Keep your firewall, antivirus, broadband drivers, graphics drivers, whatever you absolutely have to have, but uncheck everythign else.

Once you are done, click APPLY, OK, then reboot.

When your computer starts up, you'll get a grey box about the System Configuration Utility. Check the box about 'Don't run on startup' then OK.

If you had a lot of stuff checked, then your comp ought to start up faster and run more stable.

5) Run Disk Defragmenter START- ALL PROGRAMS- ACCESSORIES- SYSTEM TOOLS- DISK DEFRAGMENTER).
-OR-
Go here - http://www.majorgeeks.com/O&O_Defrag...tion_d809.html - and download a trial of O&O Defrag Professional Edition. It gives you thirty days, but it works circles around Windows defrag.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You can also make sure that you have the latest drivers for your vid card, and that all of your games are updated and patched.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.