FPS Capped at 61? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default FPS Capped at 61?

Hi, i've recently purchased a new computer, but it seems my FPS is capped at 61. What could cause this?
__________________

Tscully is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Default

what game are u playing
__________________

__________________
Amd x2 5000+
9500gt PNY
2 gigs adata
Antec Earthwatts 480
zeppelinfan2009 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ditto. what game are you playing. though i am guessing you have an LCD with a refresh rate of 60Hz and VSync turned on
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
ditto. what game are you playing. though i am guessing you have an LCD with a refresh rate of 60Hz and VSync turned on
Thats probably the problem ^^^^
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 11:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 145
Default

what does the hertz thing mean? I dont use vysnc but my pc cant go past 60hertz, this mean Ill use alot of FPS?
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3808110AS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System Memory Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K
eVGA 256-P2-N563-AX Geforce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114 120mm Cooling Fan with Heatsink
xXx-Tricky-xXx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xXx-Tricky-xXx
what does the hertz thing mean? I dont use vysnc but my pc cant go past 60hertz, this mean Ill use alot of FPS?
60Hz is the refresh rate for the monitor. I don't see how that would lower or limit your FPS, though.

Most games have a cap on FPS. Why I am not sure.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 11:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Default

if its doom then its goin to stay that way, source games their is a command for console
__________________
Amd x2 5000+
9500gt PNY
2 gigs adata
Antec Earthwatts 480
zeppelinfan2009 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

OMG WHATS THE GAME!!!!!!!!!! CS? what!
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what monitor are you using? what game? both are probably limits.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

Its almost definatly V-Sync, which stops tearing in games, any higher frame rate would be pointless anyway as the panel cannot display it as its only recieving a horizontal scan at 60hz. So V-Sync (Vertical Synchronisation) will sync the horizontal scanning the same as the vertical so that the picture cannot be distorted due to differences in refresh rates. Keep it as it is as it will prevent tearing and you could encounter other problems.
__________________

RGELLIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.