Formatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2005, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default Formatting

ok my friend has comp good p4 3.0Ghz HT and it keeps freezing every 10 seconds most likely a virus we went to format it it started formating until it hit 36% and never budged we left it for 30mins still no luck ??? suggestions any 1
__________________

Noobie is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

What program did you use to format? Or did you use the XP setup? Try quick format. Or just try again.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

um used XP recovery console man and we have tried agian and left it 4 the hole night still 36%
Noobie is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

is this maybe due to a bad sector on the hard drive???
Noobie is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try the regular format option in XP setup. Do not enter RC, just continue untile there's an option to select the partition> then format.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Noobie
is this maybe due to a bad sector on the hard drive???
You could try CHKDSK /r
in the recvery console to locate them.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 09:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

happened to me at 15 % using XP format, then i tried it with Fdisk stuck at 15% and said bad sector so im guessing bad sector, so try CHKDSK or w/e command the major suggested.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 11:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

did chkdsk says all good 160gig bla bla bla still stuk on 32% tryed both ways of formatting wat now!
Noobie is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

tryed Fdisk worked :P thanks! running all smooth now!
__________________

Noobie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.