floppy drive not working? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to bball100
Default floppy drive not working?

The floppy drive I installed in my new computer is confusing me. When I boot into windows it recognizes the floppy drive but it doesnt recognize anything I put in it. I tried flipping the floppy cable. I tried reinstalling it. I tried searching for drivers but I don't think floppy drives come with drivers. Any recomendations?
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2x1gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5 ddr400
Opteron 148 Venus core w/ matching Venus heatsink fan
250gb WD SATA2 HDD
evga 7800gt 256mb gddr3
antec truepower II 550w psu
bball100 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

is it enabled in the bios?
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

do you have another floppy drive from another computer to test if it is a bad drive?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

floppy drive is stuffed maybe ?
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to bball100
Default

Pretty sure its enabled in bios as it shows in windows.

I'll try it in another computer see if that works but I don't think that's it.
__________________
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2x1gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5 ddr400
Opteron 148 Venus core w/ matching Venus heatsink fan
250gb WD SATA2 HDD
evga 7800gt 256mb gddr3
antec truepower II 550w psu
bball100 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

also make sure you are using a known working floppy disk when checking it.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.