Flashing bios to oc 9800 pro -> xt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2004, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default Flashing bios to oc 9800 pro -> xt

Okay. i figured that my video card was the overclockable one. It looked exactly like the sapphire 256mb pro cards. so i was thinking of overclocking but then i heard that you have to flash your vid card bios. But there was one little problem.. I dunt have a floppy drive.

So i was wonderering, is there a way to flash your bios without using a floppy, such as a cd-rom or like flash drives?
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Before flashing, you should know that you can OC your card's clock and memory frequency without flashing. Get a program like ATI tool or RADCLOCKER. Even better, get the omega drivers which come with the latest ATI tool. Flashing your BIOS will void the warranty on your card. The difference between the 9800 PRO and XT was so small that sites like ANANDtech and tomshardware considered it a ripoff to buy the XT.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Is this the 128 or the 256 mb version?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

wuts the most that you can overclock a 9800 pro 256mb card?? clockspeed and mem speed
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 10-20-2004, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

zerozero, so all you have to do is oc the card to xt speeds? is this for the 128mb or the 256 mb version of the 9800pro?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

well. if your overclocking it to xt by flashing bios, you cannot do it using a 128 mb 9800pro. only a 256.
I'm sure you can overclock it manually by using ati tool or something like that to make it xt speeds.
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.