Flashing the bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 12-24-2009, 09:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie

Default Flashing the bios

I have never done this before and have some questions:

1) Is it the PC manufacturer or the Motherboard manufacturer I search for to update my BIOS?

2) Is it just an exe that I would run after dloading it, which would update it by itself?

3) What are the benefits from updating it?

Thanks.

Old 12-24-2009, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie

Default Re: Flashing the bios

1) This depends on whether it's a brand name PC like a Dell or HP, or if it's a custom-made PC. If it's a Dell or something simular you get the bios update from them. If it's a custom PC then you'll be looking at the mobo manufacturer.

2) No. If it's an exe or zip file you'll need to extract the files to a bootable floppy, cd or flash drive. Then you'll restart the system and the flash will run in DOS mode.

3) Bios updates often improve stability, fix incompatibility issues, add new features or fix problems.

Old 12-24-2009, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie

thanks for the reply. Is it strictly true that you can only flash your bios by extracting the files to a floppy, cd, or flash drive. As i thought you could maybe just extract the files onto my desktop and run the setup or exe from there.
Old 12-24-2009, 10:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie

That depends on the computer or motherboard manufacturer. Some allow for updating from within Windows. Some don't.
Old 12-24-2009, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie