Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2007, 04:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

thanks all

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
The top mounted rad doesn't really look like it works too well in that case..

I would like to see the uv cathode out of plain sight. kinda distracting...

have you ever thought of trying to mount it to the rear?
Think of it like an investment, every time you replace the tubing thats 2 less feet you need to buy. And if you use tygon @ 3 or so a foot, thats 6 bucks every time! :P

Random tangent, what pump is that?
Yes the rad will be going on the rear once I figure out how to mount it...and the other visible cathode will go up top but I need to lengthen some wires first.

As for the pump, that's a Thermaltake P400 pump...actually one of the only decent things in the thermaltake kit I had. However I am waiting on a MCW60 in the mail and I don't know how well the system is going to perform with the p400 pump because it's only rated for 2.1m....

so I have just purchased a DDC2 18w with a res and OClabs plexitop...so it will be nice to have that in there.

Thanks for the input.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
This is a stupid question, but now, are the cables that you put through the drilled holes all sticking out of the side of the case?
Like Blitersety said, there's a gap in between the mobo tray and case side so the wires are packed in between the space there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
anyways, nice touch, but is that black pad thing on the insides of the case really necessary? Wouldnt that soak up more heat? I know it's watercooled, but still i would be worried if i were u.
The black stuff isn't necessary no, but it gives it a more finished look and helps protect the wires (and my hands) from some sharpish edges from drilling the mobo tray holes.

And no it doesn't soak up more heat...it's called Akasa Paxmate and is specifically designed for case interior lining.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 06:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post

And no it doesn't soak up more heat...it's called Akasa Paxmate and is specifically designed for case interior lining.
And it dampens the fan noise people !
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

why did you decide not to go for the petras tech top?
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Well for looks actually, I wanted to see the little spinning impellar and stuff From the reviews I saw both the Alphacool, Oclabs, and Petra all perform very close to eachother (petra on top)...

Anyway I already have an Oclabs rev.2 top here but the DDC i bought is coming with an alphacool top. The OClabs looks much better but in reviews the alphacool performs slightly better. I'll probably end up selling the alphacool top to get some of my money back.

We'll see, if there is any noticeable difference between these tops it can't be more than a few 10ths of a celsius at best.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 02:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Also I have a question.

Sometimes my room temperature can vary as much as 10c...yet this doesn't ever seem to have an effect on my processor temperature.

Does this mean the limiting factor(s) are my CPU block and pump, rather than the radiator?

because I am currently using an EK wave that is pretty dated...would like to upgrade to a Fuzion or Apogee GT (and obviously the pump will be upgraded to the DDC+top as soon as it arrives)
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
antec 900 quick question Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-25-2007 03:36 PM
Adaptors for Antec 900 Fans Andyf Overclocking and Modding 14 09-27-2007 12:26 AM
Antec 900 mod Norcent Overclocking and Modding 14 09-15-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.