Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2007, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Sorry for the crappy pics...

Anyway I found wire management to be a pain in this case...also there's not much space for watercooling despite the size...so I decided to do my best with it. I don't have any pictures of the inside before...but it was a messy, dusty rats nest.

I drilled some holes to route the wires and cleaned it up a bit.
Next I'd like to cut out the black grill on the side next to the window and replace the entire thing with 1 piece of plexiglass.

*CLICK TO ENLARGE*


__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Ya i did my best to clean up my 900 when i rebuilt last weekend. Running sli didnt help much though. Looks good. Do you still have the top fan running blowing through the radiator?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Ya i did my best to clean up my 900 when i rebuilt last weekend. Running sli didnt help much though. Looks good. Do you still have the top fan running blowing through the radiator?
Yup of course....would like to make a sort of shroud for it as well.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

That looks purty, nice job on the wiring (although LED's annoy me )
Toryn is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

The top mounted rad doesn't really look like it works too well in that case..

I would like to see the uv cathode out of plain sight. kinda distracting...

have you ever thought of trying to mount it to the rear?
Think of it like an investment, every time you replace the tubing thats 2 less feet you need to buy. And if you use tygon @ 3 or so a foot, thats 6 bucks every time! :P

Random tangent, what pump is that?
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

This is a stupid question, but now, are the cables that you put through the drilled holes all sticking out of the side of the case?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 08:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Looks nice.
__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 09:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

nice build
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 09:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
This is a stupid question, but now, are the cables that you put through the drilled holes all sticking out of the side of the case?
No lol I doubt they are, the Antec 900's mobo tray is separate from the side of the case, so you can route wires behind the tray, and they'll be between the tray and the side of the case. That's how I have mine routed.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 10:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Fixed up the rat's nest that was my Antec 900

when i read this, i was like, WTF?? Y do u have a rat's nest in ur case? Then i realized i took it literally.

dont do those things to me!! It's harder to tell if u literally mean it or not online.

anyways, nice touch, but is that black pad thing on the insides of the case really necessary? Wouldnt that soak up more heat? I know it's watercooled, but still i would be worried if i were u.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
antec 900 quick question Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-25-2007 03:36 PM
Adaptors for Antec 900 Fans Andyf Overclocking and Modding 14 09-27-2007 12:26 AM
Antec 900 mod Norcent Overclocking and Modding 14 09-15-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.