first time use atitool - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2006, 09:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

so im up to stock mem and 430 core clock, (378/337.50 stock)
These artifacts im supposed to see when ive gone too far, are they plainly obvious like i would be a retard not to see them?

Also, when i get my max core clock, why should i bring that back down to stock speeds then find max mem clock instead of leave max core clock while i bring up mem clock

And im running 3 CS:S video stress tests and a run of 3dmark05 between each 5mhz, is this enough? im getting a steady increase in performance. So far i started at 58.5fps avg with CS:S video stress test and its 62.70 at 430mhz.
And went from a 2780 3dmark05 score for the 3 graphic tests to a 3041.
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 09:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

hmm, well i havnt been using the artifact tool on atitool but i just ran it, and im quickly getting artifacts at 425mhz. Though i havnt got any in those tests ive ran. what does this mean, where do i go from here
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

does any1 have any advice on how i should proceed in my situation. I have no previous experience OCing.
I got my coreclock up to 430, ran 3 CS:S video stress tests and a 3dmark05 benchmark and i didnt notice anything odd and the scores are still going up. However i hadnt used the scan artifact tool up to this point thats on atitool and i ran it while the core was at 430 and it quickly found artifacts. It doesnt find artifacts at 420.

Now, should i stop at 420 b/c atitool finds errors, or can i go higher b/c the benchmarks are running fine?
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

just be safe an lower the settings, until no artifacts are found. You can up the memory speed a lil also. When i get my gpu cooler: either artic cooling vga silencer rev3 or Zalman vf700 cooler, im going to tweak my card. I dont want to oc my card with stock cooling since my microatx case has no airflow....

My friend flashed his 9800 non-pro card to 9800pro, then used atitool get clock speeds of 455/370. Not all of us are going to reach these speeds, but with the 9800pros memory, we should easily get close to him memory clock speeds.
doodle dee is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 04:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

ive settled on 415/365 OC from 378/338 on stock cooling.
Went from a 2780 3dmark 05 score to 3031 score.
Went up ~10% fps in CS:S video stress test and HL:2 lost coast stress test.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 05:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

thats still pretty good, you still running stock cooling though right? try picking up a gpu cooler, it will definitely help with temps since our cards run real hot, you might be able to push it a lill bit further

Ok, i slapped on my buddy's arctic cooling vga silencer rev3 and got it to run to XT specs 412/365. i know i can definitely up the mem clock but since i have no ramsinks and no airflow in my case, i dont want to go too far. Unfortunately, it appears that the core clock wont be stable any anything higher than 414
__________________

doodle dee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.