First time testing my OC; Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2007, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default First time testing my OC; Questions

CPU is OCed to 3.0GHz with FSB @ 333MHz x 9 Multiplier running at 1.337 Volts

RAM @ 5-5-5-15 in 1.9Volts 1000MHz

So far so good running in Orthos passed all test and its been running for about an hour.

How long do I run Orthos for? And If I pass all test, should I clock it higher or keep it at 3.0GHz.

Maximum Temp so far is 47C

Maximum Temps:
System - 41C
CPU - 47C
Core 1 - 42C
Core 2 - 43C

It seems to me that Orthos is only stressing one of the cores, the Core 2 not the Core 1. Is this ok? Or should I test it on both Cores at the same time?

The RAM is like 100% most of the time. Is the RAM tested on Orthos too?

Im doing the blend test stress test CPU and RAM and the CPU Selection is Any CPU but its only running or stressing the Core 2 CPU.

Hmmmm... If this passes I might try 366FSB from 333FSB, thats a huge jump, should I take the risk?

Edit
Okay, I also dont have a monitoring thing to monitor the RAM temperature. Not sure if its gonna affect that nor do I know what the max temperature for RAMs or this particular RAM.

Which brings me to another question, whats the maximum MHz for this RAM too? Cuz when I change the FSB, the RAM MHz selection also changes.

Example. When I had the CPU FSB at 300, RAM was at 1000MHz. But when I changed the CPU FSB to 333 RAM went up to 1066MHz but I brought it back down to 1000MHz afraid it was clocked too high for this RAM.

So when I go to 400FSB, I should bring my RAM to 800MHz for a 1:1 Ratio?

Last thing, is it okay if I leave Orthos running while say........ I go wash my car or something? I hear/read that you/I should be running Orthos for at least 8 Hours to make sure its stable or not. But with Temperature not reaching more than 50C, I think I can clock it even more maybe to 3.6GHz without reaching temperature greater than 60C.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

Temps over 50*C won't hurt anything, but once you start going over 60*C you'll want to get some better cooling.

You got your DDR2 800 to run at 1066MHz? O.o

I'm not sure how to use Orthos, but you can make Prime95 run on both cores. Download Prime95.

Once you've downloaded it, make two shortcuts somewhere. Right-click the first and go to Properties, then the Shortcut tab. In the Target box, at the very end, put: -A0 (for core 0).

Then, hit apply and go to the second shortcut and do the same except put -A1 (for core 1).

Then, once you open Prime95 (open the first) go to Advanced (at the top) then Affinity, and put it as core 0, then open the second shortcut and put it as core 1.

There you have it, Prime95 on both cores. Run it for 10+ hours, if no errors, you're good to go. Though, I seriously doubt it will be unstable at only 3GHz.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

Ye, I thought so. Hopefully its stable. No errrors found on Orthos so far, everything passed.

My RAM is running at 1000MHz 5-5-5-12 and 1.9Volts
CPU is at 333MHz FSB 1.337 Volts.

If this works okay, i think ill keep it and wont clock it just yet again.

Edit:

Will changing the PCI-E Frequency also increase my Graphics Card and test better on 3dmark? Im thinking of getting the PCI-E thingy on the BIOS to like 100 ~ 110 or something.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Temps over 50*C won't hurt anything, but once you start going over 60*C you'll want to get some better cooling.

You got your DDR2 800 to run at 1066MHz? O.o

I'm not sure how to use Orthos, but you can make Prime95 run on both cores. Download Prime95.

Once you've downloaded it, make two shortcuts somewhere. Right-click the first and go to Properties, then the Shortcut tab. In the Target box, at the very end, put: -A0 (for core 0).

Then, hit apply and go to the second shortcut and do the same except put -A1 (for core 1).

Then, once you open Prime95 (open the first) go to Advanced (at the top) then Affinity, and put it as core 0, then open the second shortcut and put it as core 1.

There you have it, Prime95 on both cores. Run it for 10+ hours, if no errors, you're good to go. Though, I seriously doubt it will be unstable at only 3GHz.
orthos all u have to do is just use multi cores and it will stress both cores without having you go throw all that stupid crap in making 2 folders with prime 5 and stuff.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

what program do you use to monitor your temps?
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

nTune for graphics card and SpeedFan for CPU and system stuff
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

Coretemp is more accurate for the cpu temps and if i recall actually shows the gpu temps.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 06:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

does it work with windows vista 64 bit?
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 03:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: First time testing my OC; Questions

Speedfan sucks with accuracy and coretemp always gave me bsod. AGHHH cant find a good program.
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
Refresh page at a certain time? Greg Web Graphics and Design 3 08-11-2007 01:08 PM
Is it getting time for me to upgrade? Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-04-2007 02:23 PM
OCing running and stress testing E6230@2.450GHz raiders_best Overclocking and Modding 20 05-22-2007 12:04 AM
Unique World's First Shipping Time Based Comparison Shopping pdqdeals Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-09-2007 04:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.