first time overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default first time overclocking

Can it really ruin the computer?

My specs are:

asus p4s800d-x,
2gb of ram,
300gb hard drive,
intel pentium 4 2.8GHz,
xfx geforce 6600 256mb,
3 really good fans on a controller.


I want to overclock my graphics card but don't know what program to use!!!
__________________

Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, you can kill your computer.
Try RivaTuner for the graphics card.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

will it kill my computer if i only overclock the graphics card?

Can you stop overclocking once you start?
Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You basicaly set your parts to a higher speed. If you set them to high it can be damaging.
You should increase the clock speed of your graphics card by a few MHz, then run some demanding application like 3DMark or a heavy game for some time, then set it a bit higher and try again. If you get artifacts, strange colors or anything else, set the speed a bit slower. You can stop at any time and reset default settings.

Overclocking the graphics card shouldn't affect other parts, but anything can happen.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

thanx
Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

I can't tell a difference.

Do I have to restart to see a difference?
Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

how long would you give it to see if my computer will die?
Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

If it doesn't die instantly it probably won't die at all.
Just make sure you aren't getting any weird artifacts in demanding games/3D applications.
After installing RivaTuner and enabling driver based overclocking you can overclock right away.

If you don't see any difference it's probably not worth overclocking for the application you are testing/benchmarking, or you didn't overclock it far enough.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.