First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2007, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

I wanted to overclock my Athlon XP 2600+. I have a 550 watt PSU.

Anyway I followed a guide to overclocking and went inside my bios, I left the multiplier as it was at 12.5, I then changed the FSB from 166/33 to 167/33.

So basically an overclock from 2.075 to 2.087 ghz. When I booted up windows everything went fine. I then checked the temps and they usually run 48 C at Idle and like 55-57 C at full load when running it stock. I know they are high but I am using stock cooling.

Anyway the temps were at like 54 C idle with the overclock. They were at about 66-67 C when running Prime95 and my computer just shut down. I planned on just putting it back to normal and waiting for my new PC to do overclocking but the PC won't turn back on now.

This just happened like 10 minutes ago, so maybe i have to give it some time to cool down or something? Please help me out or reassure me that I'm ok, Im kinda upset right now.
__________________

mvpo.geo is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 02:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

letting it cool down may let it turn on for you to revert the settings. otherwise (and i reccomend this any way!) you should reset the CMOS settings either by identifying the CMOS jumper (if there is one on the board) and following the manufacturers instructions or simply by unplugging the power cable from the PC and removing the CMOS battery for a few minutes. put the battery back and power up. ALL the settings should have reverted to defaults.

if you have any trouble finding the CMOS battery, it's a "button cell" and should be the only battery on the motherboard
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 03:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

I just tried taking out the battery and let it sit for 2 mins, I then put it back in and rehooked up the computer. It still isn't working, it makes sort of a slight click like its tryign to turn on when I hit the power button but nothing happens. I just recently got a new power supply for this computer less than a week ago, do you think the power supply could have gone on it already!?

Someone help me out lol, Im giving this computer to my parents. (I was overclocking just to try the whole overclockign thing out and see if I could do it.)
mvpo.geo is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 03:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

Ok, whenever I try to power it on. Blue LED(i believe) Lights that came installed in the PSU will flash on for a second then shut off. That is the small click I here for a second as if its powering up then stops. Do you guys just think this new PSU has failed on me? Is returning a failed PSU to newegg an easy process?

I took out the CMOS battery 2 times now. And tried that method. It hasn't worked. Well hopefully I'll have some insight by the morning.
mvpo.geo is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

yeah, you got something screwy going on.
probably a dead psu.
you shouldnt see a temp increase when you overclock unless you raise the voltage. just raising the cpu clock will not generate any more heat.
take a multi-meter and check the psu's output, or put your old one back in (if you still have it) and see if it works.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

Sent the PSU back RMA or whatever to exchange. I have a question, why the **** do I have to pay another 8 bucks for shipping when its not my fault the thing gave out. NewEgg should cover the replacement shipping both way shouldn't they? lol
mvpo.geo is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 06:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

Quote:
you shouldnt see a temp increase when you overclock unless you raise the voltage. just raising the cpu clock will not generate any more heat.
not quite true nagasama. heat increases are mostly the result of voltage increases when overclocking. however a reasonable component is from the increased clock speed too. think about it, higher frequency means greater activity. the more activity in the processor the greater the energy consuption and consequentially heat output.

sadly this does look like hardware failure of some kind, though i don't think it's the power supply (can't hurt much RMA'ing it other than a few bucks postage though ). it could be the motherboard, memory, expansion cards or even the processor. in my experience it's unlikely to be the processor as they are quite resilient when overclocking, they are generally damaged by excessive voltage, prolonged high temperatures and time. a likely candidate which is easy to test is that your graphics card could have been damaged if the AGP bus frequency is not locked (though i think in your case it is given your FSB settings e.g. 166/33 which indicate the PCI frequency is locked to 33MHz so presumably the AGP frequency is in reference to that). that leaves memory and motherboard. if you have any spare DDR memory around that's the next thing to check. motherboards like this can fail while overclocking due to the chipset disliking FSB increases.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 08:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

I would have to say it is either Motherboard or PSU.... Even without RAM, the PSU should stay on, the machine just won't POST... same with video card. Not sure about CPU though... I haven't ever tried to start a computer WITHOUT a CPU in it...
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 09:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

i did that once. it gave an error in big red text "error abnormal cpu hardware yada yada". just for fun. i think that particaulr motherboard was just hardwired to display that if there was no cpu, stored in some obscure rom chip. makes sense. but its prolly not true for all boards.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!!

If it was my video card, wouldn't the power supply do more than have a flash or lights for about a second? This power supply was on the cheaper end, so thats why I'm assuming it is the power supply. I'm hoping its just the power supply but maybe it could end up being the motherboard and I will have to get a new one.
__________________

mvpo.geo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM
Cable connection not working. lalala123 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-10-2007 01:25 PM
Unique World's First Shipping Time Based Comparison Shopping pdqdeals Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-09-2007 04:33 AM
Linksys router not working anymore Stand and Fight Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 14 03-25-2007 02:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.