first time gentle overclock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2006, 08:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
It was only a minor increase in voltage, and i play to upgrade so didnt see the harm. 1.40 to 1.425 wont do much damage right?
that doesn't answer the question . run prime95 again at 1.4v, no sense in having the voltage unnecessarily higher than it has to be.

Quote:
if i carried on OC'ing till 200mhz or a little over and loosen the timings would that be ok? or should I just leave it.
if you think that everything is stable now and that the temperatures are fine there is no reason why you shouldn't keep going
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ok its running at 2300Mhz now and I lowered the voltage back to 1.40 without any trouble. If I try and overclock though to a HTT at 235 then windows wont work.

but I'm running prime95 at these settings HTT 230 multiplier x10
and no problems so far. Although not sure I can push much more overclocking out of my system.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

oh crap prime95 failed after 10 minutes lol :S

EDIT: I upped the voltage back to 1.425 and the error didnt happen so continuing prime95
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 02:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Lower the HT multiplier to 4 from 5 and then try 235.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 02:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Well i ran prime95 for awhile seems ok, Im now at 233 running voltage at 1.50

you said change my multiplier from 5 to 4? its set to 10.

EDIT: oh I see got you ok i`ll do that later and see if I can push a little more out.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 02:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

No there's another multiplier. At stock the HT multiplyer is at 5. You have to take that (5) and multiply it by the HT frequency (200) to get your HTT frequency (1000). You want to keep the HTT frequency a close to 1000 as possible. You can usually get away with 150 or a little bit more but that when it starts crashing. So in order to run at 235 you have to set it at 4 (4 X 235 = 940) as opposed to 5 X 235 = 1175
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 02:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Ok thanks very informative the overclocking sites I looked at didnt go into that much detail I shall try it out soon.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 02:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Your welcome. Post back with results.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 03:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ok tried that, prime95 ran for 5 minutes and got an error. I dont think i can reach 235 even if i had upped the voltage.

my temps are fine CPU at 36 Celsius idle and 42 on full load.

my voltage is at 1.440.

Could it be a ram problem? its at :

Frequency = 196.1Mhz
FSB/DRAM = CPU/12
timings = 2.5 3 3 7
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.