first time gentle overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default first time gentle overclock

hello all,

I decided to try out overclocking since i`ll be upgrading my comp by the end of the year. I just want to make sure Iv done it alright lol.

here's some pics if anyone can tell me if my voltage looks fine if my ram is ok etc.

I upped the HTT from 200Mhz to 225Mhz
and upped the voltage from 1.4 to 1.425
Although not sure about the whole ram thing ram memtest for 8 hours no errors.

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h8...overclock1.png

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h8...rclocking2.png

Also I read somewhere that overclocking can affect PCI ? unless its locked I have an n force 4 mobo and think its set to auto? does that mean its locked?

Thank you for any assistance.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

are you sure that that voltage increace was necessary? you should only up the voltage when it starts to become unstable at the clocks you are setting.

do you have idle and load temperatures for it?

what other settings are there apart from auto for the PCI? if it has locked, lock it.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

It was only a minor increase in voltage, and i play to upgrade so didnt see the harm. 1.40 to 1.425 wont do much damage right?

and my BIOS doesnt seem to have many settings, i can change ram timings etc, ram voltages, there is something that is PCIE voltage which is 100Mhz :S hope thats normal.

I didnt see any LDT settings..but i just want to make sure this overclock is stable. I dont plan to go nuts as my ram wouldnt allow it.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

download Prime95 and run the torture test to check stability.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ok I ran memtest so my RAM is ok, I`ll use this to test my CPU hope all goes well. How long should I leave it on for?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

10 hours ish. ideally 24. leave it overnight and see what happens.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ok thanks for the help, does overclocking offer a significant real world performance difference such as games or multimedia applications?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

depends how far you go. but it definatly helps, yes. keep pushing it until it is unstable, and then drop back a bit and stay there, to get best results.

keep watching the CPU temps, dont let them get much above 50*C.

what was your stock clock speed, and what is it now?

~yawn~ bed time. GCSE science tomorrow.

EDIT: woo! UKer here too. lol
joshd is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 06:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Well I ran prime95 for 12 hours on the torture test and no errors guess my systems ok .

My ram was running at 166mhz and as Iv overclocked its gone up, its now at 191.7mhz the most it can handle is 200mhz with looser timings.

if i carried on OC'ing till 200mhz or a little over and loosen the timings would that be ok? or should I just leave it.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 08:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Keep on overclocking until your ram is atleast 200MHz. You should probably be able to get a bit higher than 200MHz. Try upping the ram voltage.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.